We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful and Welcoming Accomodations in Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed at the Kempinski in Bruges for one night in late December. Definitely exceeded expectations as far as room size and quality when compared to most European accomodations. The room was large and very well kept, well decorated and comfortable. It was a true, full sized king bed which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel itself is beautiful. Reception was warm, promptly took our car and bags - the only thing I would note is that we arrived early, around 2 pm and the room was not ready however this seemed more like a 'practice' to wait until 3 pm check-in time versus seeing if a room was available us even though we requested early check in. No big deal as a short walk around beautiful Bruges and we were back at the hotel and ready to go to our room. We stayed in what we were told was the "original" part of the hotel. Spent a good amount of time in the bar and even ended up eating there after our restaurant of choice in Bruge didn't work out - everything was great! We didn't use any of the hotels services as we were only there for one nite but as far as a hotel providing nice accomadations with all the creature comforts you may know and love, this place fits the bill. I will definitely stay here again if I ever make it back to Bruge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,729 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very nice and excellent Hotel in Bruges. Very good service, good food, friendly staff.
We had a excellent stay in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehwvdakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Check in was the only disappointment. No porter to take the bags - I actually don't mind too much but out of principle, it's a disappointment!
The room was well appointed with quality fittings overlooking the gardens with the strange red fibreglass giant red poodle!
Beds are very, very comfy and large.
(Tea and Coffee making kit would be a good addition).
With fear and trepidation, my wife ventured into the shower in the morning - we'd read the previous reviews and noted the issues! Result was......... No issue, perfect temperature control! Room 311 obviously doesn't suffer from the same reported issues!
Didn't eat in the restaurant but used the bar several times. Great atmosphere with attentive friendly service - William is a top guy!
Hotel is ideally located within short walk of all main places.
In summary, great hotel, genuine 5 Star quality and we would return!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Having just returned from the Kempinski, travelling with others so two rooms needed, we found the much reported shower fluctating temperatures to be very evident. If you feel the shower temperature change, then step back quick, because it will go either very hot or very cold in a few seconds. It will then stabalise again, but not for long. It really does go hot enough to scald.

Overall this hotel lacks in a few things that really should be there. Namely a few more staff and stronger maangement. On our arrival mid week, 2pm there was no doorman on duty, no porter. The receptionist collected our bags and showed us to our room. We had a junior suite and superior room. There really was not a major size difference in the rooms, but the suite had a coffee machine, a pot plant and a small box of chocolate bars.

We ordered room service for lunch and this was excellant. Properly served on trolley table.
Room Service dinner was also very good and anything from the main restaurant menu can be provided as room service. This is always a plus point for us. Although we had connecting rooms, we were never once offered the option of having the door opened. We could have requested it, but the offering of such things should really be standard.

Breakfast we had in the dining room, but the service was lacking a little care and once you have been offered the cooked breakfast, no further interaction with staff is likely. I would prefer it if I'm asked if I would like some more tea or coffee, without searching out staff, but once we had been served, that was it. The eggs florentine were average, there is a large selection of breads, rolls, fruit, ham, cheese etc, so there really is more than enough to help yourself to, but staff were thin on the ground.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, but staffing levels appear low and the water to the showers really does need sorting out. As with all European hotels, you need to pay for internet access but a €5 a day for a standard connection, this was cheaper than most. We had the car valet parked without issue. We would use this hotel again, but our expectations would be lowered.

Room Tip: To have tea and coffee machine in room, book a junior suite at the very least.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsOgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

As you approach the hotel which is situated in the centre of town, you know it will be good. The place is a real picture. It must have been amazing as a private resident.

Great rooms, friendly staff who like all in Belgium happily speak English and are very friendly and very efficient.

Lot's of great little touches throughout the hotel. Staying in December, it couldn't look more like Christmas. Great night's sleep, the pillows are like sleeping on clouds.

Only slight problem was the hotel bar closed early even for residents. Wouldn't serve us a night cap at midnight. Sort of expect better from 5 star.

Great place will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We were expecting MUCH more from the Kempinski Dukes' Palace. Our experience with other Kempinski properties have always been stellar. We spoke to Mr. Alexis van den Reeck THREE times prior to our arrival. We told him we were celebrating a special occasion, and wanted our trip to memorable. Upon arrival, no one was available to take our luggage from the limo into the hotel. Christian and Illya (sp?) were just sitting at the desk doing nothing. When they sent someone out, I had to help her with the luggage cart. They told us to take the elevator to our deluxe junior suite on the second floor. No upgrade, pushing the luggage cart, showing ourselves to our room--what a warm welcome--NOT !!!!

The shower was impossible to regulate--it went from very hot to very cold 5 times. Mr. Van den Reeck told us (the next day) that the hotel is very aware of the situation--but it will cost 20,000 Euros for a new bolier, and the management is not ready to do it ???? It was only at that point did they offer to upgrade us. This was a "little too late" for us to contemplate moving--especially since the shower situation was identical throughout the hotel. Apparently, during our entire stay, the manager Phillipe De Meyer was incognito and not to be found.

The breakfast at other Kempinski properties (i.e. The Adlon, and The Corvinius) have always been a highlight--here it was just mediocre--another disappointment ! After coming from the Amigo in Brussels--where everyone was warm and friendly--and going on to the De L'Europe in Amsterdam where we experienced the same warmth--(look at my other reviews)--this was the LOW point of our trip. On our next trip to Bruges, we will stay at a Relais and Chateau where will get our usual warm welcome and much more charm.

Room Tip: Don't go--problems regulating the hot and cold water
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here with friends on a city break. When you see the building ahead of you on arrival you know you are going to enjoy your stay. The staff are really friendly and gave us lots of local knowledge for bars and restaurants. The bedrooms are comfortable and well designed. The weekend we were there they did have a problem with the showers in all rooms but that did not impact on our stay. The hotel had a lot of guests while we were there but the hotel itself did not feel crowded. My only comment on the hotel is that the reception is too small and the desk is very close to the front door so if there are several people checking in at the same time it can feel uncomfortable.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the new section overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolfzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £134 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing