We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th century castle with 5 star amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Bruges. It is a 15th century castle transformed into a five star hotel with modern amenities.Elegant surroundings,comfortable bed,good food with very polite English speaking staff. Bruges is definitely one of the tourist spots to see in Europe. No wonder it is included as a World heritage site by Unesco.,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 969babydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Grand hotel in amazing location, minutes walking to Markt, with a beautiful garden on its own quiet street. We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 rooms both upgraded to junior suites. Thankfully, one room was ready upon check-in which was earlier than check-in time. The other room was ready soon after. Check-in was pleasant although, peculiar for a 5-star hotel, there was no doorman when we checked-in. Maybe he shares the same responsibilities as a bellhop which we also did not see and was helping other guests with their luggage? Although at checkout, a very pleasant doorman was there and assisted with our luggage into the taxi.

The beds in both rooms could use refreshing, as well as the rest of the furniture which did not share the comfort of the modern up-to-date bathroom. The pressure and water temperature was great. Showers and baths had plenty of hot water. There were desks in the rooms with very dim, too dim, lamps. Fresh floral arrangements in rooms were very much appreciated.

The public rooms were elegantly furnished. We did not try the hotel dining facilities as there are too many delicious options in Bruges.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank traveltales411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Very comfy bed, excellent staff and what a beautiful hotel would go back any time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week at this beautiful hotel and magnificient building located in a perfect location for the centre of Bruges , but still very quiet . I mention that it is very professionally run because I had a minor problem with valet parking , the person at fault was so apologetic that I felt sorry for him and the management handled the issue extremely well . The gardens are fantastic and if the weather is warm it is the perfect place to relax .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very impressive building in the middle of the city. A 5 star retreat.
It's about 50 yards from the main shopping streets of Nordzandstraat &
Geldmuntstraat, where a number of upmarket shops operate and only a 5 minute walk from the main square - The Markt. It was a special occasion so my wife & myself decided to treat ourselves to a 4 night break.
It is the second time we have stayed here, the first being the year of the Ash cloud. We got an upgrade that year, mainly because they'd had a lot of cancellations. However, it seems such events don't have to happen to get
an upgrade as they gave us one again. Customer service is very good at this
place, helpful and friendly, and not just from front of house.
We had a large Junior Suite overlooking the garden. It was spotless with plenty of wardrobe space, large bathroom with a bath and separate powerful shower, and toiletries in abundance. Huge, comfortable bed, and linen changed daily, which one would expect of an establishment of this rating.
The only gripe was the position of the TV. Both the bed and a sofa face down the length of the room. The TV is on a side wall - cricked necks abound.
Very pleasant conservatory bar/brasserie, and sitting area in the nicely tended garden. The huge sculpture of a red poodle in the garden is something to behold.
We have been coming to Bruges regularly over the last 14 years, so we tend to use local restaurants rather than hotel restaurants. The restaurant looks super, but from what I could see, the menu didn't change daily. Breakfast is pricey and, again, we use local cafes which are excellent for what we want.
As seems common in a lot of hotels in mainland Europe parking is expensive at 30 euro a night. I prefer to spend it on a good meal. There is parking at Zilverzand car park a 5 minute walk away for 8.70 euro per night and seems secure.

Room Tip: We have only been here twice and have had a room at the rear each time, so they are quiet. The qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Duke's for 3 nights. Great location, friendly and professional staff. The location is amazing right in the heart of the town.Hotel seems like it was once a castle before being turned into luxury hotel. Very peacefull place, in a small street. the breakfast was absolutely worth it great choise and good products. Lovely!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our stay at the Duke's Palace was very comfortable, staff were courteous and friendly and rooms were elegantly appointed - but it was soft, luxurious bed that I dropped into exhausted at the end of every full day of sight-seeing that I remember the most. Conveniently located to old-town attractions and the main square, it makes a convenient base from which to explore the city on foot. The food was good, but not outstanding, the beer selection limited to what you will find outside of the hotel, and I'd highly recommend not driving to the hotel unless you are comfortable with navigating small, cobbled, one-way streets. But the bar is comfortable and elegant, the view of the whimsical garden from our room was beautiful and memorable, and the room was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that over-looks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £132 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing