We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peaceful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here 4 nights in a junior suite. It is a true 5 star hotel in that the important amenities for an enjoyable stay are present and unnecessary ones are absent. My husband and I seek privacy and do not enjoy meeting butlers and guest relations directors at check-in like some luxury hotels force upon guests. Reception was welcoming and efficient. The hotel is subtly elegant, in a close but quiet location from the market square; and the staff professional. If we needed something we received it immediately. The garden is lovely. We drove to the hotel without difficulty considering its central location in a typical centuries-old city. We would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NANCY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,729 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

A very well located 5 star hotel offering all that goes with 5 stars and doing it well. They have a beautiful garden where simple but good meals can be taken (why not breakfast on a nice morning?).
But why do they charge 25 Euros for Internet access. Only expensive hotels do this and every B&B now offers this free of charge. The charges in an hotel like this are high enough (30Euros to park a car) and Internet is no longer a luxury. I was looking to book into the Kempinski Berlin for a few days but decided that for that period of time the internet would cost as much as a room for a night! So will go elsewhere.
But despite that whinge it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The hotel is really five stars hotel, marvels building, perfect gardens and nice rooms. The service is very professional but with little extra effort by stuff, people will be able to better connect to the place and to feel they are welcome. We were with a family, took two rooms with connecting doors which was great. The pool is very nice for children and the spa is spoiling. Brugge is a great place for a weekend and no doubt kempinski can give you the extra joy to your stay

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank oren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is the fourth stay at the Dukes Palace Hotel and it was as good as ever. We usually treat ourselves and stay in the Isabella van Portugal suite which is in the old part of the hotel but as this was a last minute decision we decided to try a superior room with garden view.
The room was very good, well equip and very comfortable. The room was a good size compared to London Hotels with chairs and table and desk with internet access (you have to pay for this though). The view was a bit limited with high window cills but i guess that was dictated by the architecture and so not a real issue.
The bathroom had a seperate shower with lots of hot water and a large bath big enough for two. Lots of towels and bathrobes and plenty of toiletries. The wc was in the same room but behind a glass door.
We didnt use the spa this time but have previously, the pool is quite small but hardly used and i have never seen anyone in the gym adjecent to it although there is plenty of exercise equipment if you wanted to, Personally i would rather drink the beer and eat chocolate.

The car parking tarrif is 30 euro per night so not cheap but its under the hotel so very safe. Make sure you take your car to the front of the hotel and ask reception to park it, as there isnt a lift from the car park to the hotel and so you would have to carry your cases up to the hotel which isnt a great start to your stay.

We had a great time in Bruges and will certainly return again in the near future.
If you go, hire a cycle, its the best way of seeing the City

Room Tip: Note tip about car park.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We was lucky becouse didnt read any reviewes on this hotel just looked on their web other ways we probably made a differrent choice but it was good,very good.Location ,servise ,food ,attention to details ,I was happy even my husband and he is very picky.Room was lovely,good size for three people our 4 years old daughter came with us too .We was lucky for some reason it wasnt very busy there during our stay in August so we had no problems with reseption desk we found staff was very helpfull ,it was little over priced but everything in Brugges is over priced .It wasnt much to do for kids but this destination not for children anyway and we decided to visit this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is beautiful hotel in a great location. The room we had was superb and up to Kempinski standards. Food very good but the only downside was the queue to get into breakfast each morning. On the first morning we were asked to wait in the bar area as there was a queue for breakfast and that they would come and get us when a table was ready. Unfortunately they forgot us! By the time we got to have breakfast it was closing time and virtually nothing left. So in that respect not happy. However the staff were very attentive and very helpful. The hotel was packed as it was Easter time but unfortunately the staff could not cope with the large number of people. This was their excuse if ever anything went wrong or there was a long queue for check out or something. This bit needs to be addressed as they should always assume that the hotel will be full when working out staffing etc especially over a holiday period. Nevertheless a lovely hotel if a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Good parking facilities.

Room Tip: All good. Perhaps go for the best you can afford and enjoy the the pampering
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location for sight-seeing in Bruges. Our rooms (we travelled with our daughter) were spacious and luxurious. Breakfast offered a wonderful array to suit every taste. Dinner was absolutely delicious. We chose to have the selected wines with it - they were fine though a little incomplete - cheese and dessert were served with the main course wine! We didn't try the pool which looked small but nice enough. Unfortunately, the spa treatments were already booked for the times we were interested in.The large courtyard garden is lovely. We came away feeling this was a perfect place to end our trip.

We had a couple of small niggles that didn't spoil our overall stay. Internet has been mentioned elsewhere - it costs .... why? The default is 25 euros per night but if you click under you will discover that you need only pay 5 euros. I am not a great fan of glass walls in bathrooms even if this one was opaque - it is disturbing to the person who is trying to sleep to have a wall of light in the room. Some plug points didn't work, which we reported and when the a/c in our first room didn't work the duty manager sorted this out efficiently by moving us to a nearby, comparable room. The signage to the spa area was almost non-existent and made us laugh as we wandered the corridors. As I say, none of this detracted from our overall feelings about this hotel - and we would recommend this - it isn't cheap but it was lovely.

Finally, I would like to say a big thank you to the reception staff who were super both on arrival and departure. The waiting staff in the restaurant were lovely - one lady had a lovely manner when she explained that the breakfast buffet would soon be cleared - we had finished but her friendly explanation was appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKAingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £134 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing