We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“45th wedding anniversary disaster rescued by this brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Originally booked at a different hotel in Bruges, supposedly into a luxury double room. Turned out to be little more than a cupboard! Tears all round!! Found Hotel Dukes' Palace on the web, walked round there and explained the problem. They found us a junior suite, which they upgraded to deluxe. Their kindness, helpful and friendly manner cannot be bettered. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff or any of the other hotel staff. The hotel itself is delightful, the food excellent. The building itself is very impressive. It is also well placed for all the wonderful sights in Bruges. There should be more hotels like this one. Superb.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We came to this hotel as a party of two couples having driven over from London, and eventually navigating the maze of one way streets. The rooms were comfortable and big....far bigger than most that you would find in Europe.....more typical of many Asian hotels, and with an adequate bathroom, although the shower was over the bath.
The hotel itself is a lovely, grand building, set in spacious grounds, and 2 minute's walk to the central square and many of the fabulous architectural attractions, and the staff are all very attentive, but it lacks some of the things which we expect from a hotel of this level: tea and coffe making facilities, for example, were not evident, and we therefore would not lift our rating of it. We did, however, leave some clothing behind and, when we contacted housekeeping, they offered to post it to us (provided we paid for it of course), although we haven't received it yet and, in spite of its minor limitations, we will stay there again when we return for a more detailed look around this wonderful historic city....allow more than just a couple of days as there is just so much to see.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we spent there two nights. Spacious and beautifull rooms. very good service. bar in the garden highly recommended. we had nice lunch and drinks were excelent. Service friendly and competent. Location is superb. it is a walking distance to all main attractions of Brugge. Breakfast - very good choice and quality of produce. however i have two complaints: a. i would expect the internet to work better. in a five star hotel i would expect 5 star internet. i would not mind to pay for it even if i could get fast and reliable connection. b. we had a funny experience. we have lost our passports in the safe of one of our rooms. i only realised it a day later 400 kilometres away. i called the hotel. of course the mistatke was mine entirely but the arrogance of the reception was beyond belief. the young man who answered the phone started selling me corporate line that they check safes immediately after every departure and there is no way that my passports are there and they simply vanished. i have to say that i ws expecting more from Kempinsky. thanks god a lady in charge of the room service helped us out and after the next guests checked out she cheked the safety boxes and gues what ..... our passports were there. all were sent to my office within couple of days. Thanks to housekeeping!! to the young man at the reception: try to be more polite pls and pls think out lf the box from time to time and please realise that people do mot follow always the corporate policy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and expectations were high looking at other Tripadvisor reviews of this hotel but to be honest do not expect a real 5 star hotel.

What is not good :
- first time since long time I had to sleep with earplugs (thanksCathay) because since the hotel is old the guests above our room were walking and you hear this .....very bad !!! Bare this in mind.

- where staff usually makes the difference (or at least can make) is in this hotel not the case , they lack passion and giving you the feeling you are a welcome guest ; especially the reception staff is very unfriendly.

-we arrived at 14.30 and thought to have a room immediately but had to wait 20 minutes without even offering a drink for the waiting ; room service is also late , it is now 15.35 and our room is still not done ....

-beds are NOT very good , the linnen used is crushing and uncomfortable ; two pillows and basicly both not what at least I was looking for ; bed is too hard and feels like you float on it.

What is good :
- fact it is an old building or palace , really nice
- breakfast is great with amazing choice
- good location to explore Bruges

To be honest the hotel is nice but leadership , passion and quality !

Room Tip: Upperfloor room to avoid noice from above room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJBoschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A lovely building set back from the throng but close to everything. Delightful staff, very helpful and personable. Room delightful - overlooking turret and courtyard, big bathroom, big bed, v comfortable. Free Internet (hallelujah). Garden at back is v nice. Overall a delightful gem in this lovely town. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RolloMcFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stay here for two nights in a superior delux room... The staff, the room and location were lovely as was the resturant and breakfast. We were very impressed and loved every minute of our stay. Would defiantly not hesitate to return back to this hotel. Would 100% recommend paying for the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a Suite in August. The room was in the separate block overlooking the gardens with private balcony. It was immaculate, roomy and very comfortable. Great location 2 mins from main square. Valet parking excellent and staff very friendly. The bar is very fairly priced compared to other luxury hotels and a pleasant place to have a drink. Fantastic and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickfoxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £132 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing