We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This hotel is a great place for those looking for a no fuss luxury. The building and surrounds are excellent. The generous outdoor garden space is a genuine pleasure, it adds a whole new level of amenity to the hotel experience.
The rooms are a delight with the beds being the best I have experienced. We travelled with two children and this hotel absorbed us with little effort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were so pleased with Duke's Palace from the moment we arrived until we unfortunately had to leave. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, palatial and inviting. The staff should and do bend over backwards to lend a hand or deliver what you wish to your room. Everything about the place oozes class. The bathroom was one of the highlights of our room enclosed in it's own frosted glass cell with wet-room shower and large bath overlooking the room. The bed you will find is clearly another highlight. Ultra-plush and had an insomniac like me snoring in minutes.

The location cannot be beat. As others have observed, it is close enough to provide the most fantastic views over the city as well as access within a few minutes to the centre (Markt). Even on one of the busiest weeks of the year we found it to be very quiet at night with only the sound of the Belltower during the day.

Though not the cheapest, I found the value for money here well worth the splurge. You will feel sorry to leave. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We found the view from our top floor overlooking the town to be unbeatable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Hotel is beautiful and really palacial with lovely art works all over the walls. The bedroom was
was large and luxurious.
The outside space was set in a garden with sculptures. Very pretty.
The food was excellent and the staff very attentive - in a good way.
I would return with the greatest of pleasure.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room which was large and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic position in Bruges, it is a 4 minute walk to the main square so you are just far out enough not to get any noises at night time. You have loads of restuarants and bars right on your door step. Bruges is a beautiful city, the Venice of the North and this 5 star hotel makes for a perfect bases

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0006AOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is just excellent. It does what 5 star hotels should do, but don't always. While we were checking in, the staff parked my car and took our bags to our room; all without waiting around for a tip. The receptionist took ten minutes to give us a map of Bruges and point out places to see and things to do.

The rooms are beautiful and have everything you need, including illuminated magnifying mirrors and hair dryers with enough power to dry your hair. It is not cheap but is very good value for money. We stayed there last December and returned last weekend. And we will go back again. Great place!!!

Room Tip: The garden facing rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 2 nights in a deluxe junior suite thanks to special rate, the room was ok even if not corresponding to the picture on their website. The bathroom was really huge and nice but a strong smell of food was there. On the first evening just after our arrival I ask the reception to do something, which they don't. We had a problem with the A/C too, impossible to stop it whereas it was too cold in the room and too noisy. They never offer to move us to another room !!!!
On the next morning I ask again, and the guy told me he will send someone. Finally a maid came with a sort of spray and admitted it was really smeling bad, but couldn't do anything !!!
What a service for a palace !!!!
The swimming pool is small and if you come at the end of the afternoon, no more towels for you and no staff available.
I was also surprise not to have a concierge in such an hotel.
The buffet for the breakfast is good and nice, with plenty to it and freshly squeezed juices.
The situation of the hotel is calm but I can imagine how noisy the close room can be.
I will definitely not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a palace. I can bet it will loose its name very shortly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paris75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, modern hotel, retaining its regal character. Great service and facilities. Lovely pool in the spa, although didnt have treatments. Peaceful and convenient location. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparks080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £134 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing