We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to feel special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Nestled away near the main square, this hotel is very special. The staff were warm and polite as you would expect in a hotel of this standard. The room was excellent and well worth the price. The meals and drinks were a little pricy but this is Belgium so you could so they were fair value.

We were at the end of a four week holiday which had taken in the south of France, Paris and Bruges and this hotel was definitely the way to finish our journey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,517 - 1,523 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a beautiful place and I thought staying here was a privilege. Tucked away quietly yet close to the city's main square, the hotel is stunning to return to at night with lights which show off its elegant facade. Our room was lovely, luxurious not just comfortable, quiet and refined. The bathroom was spacious and brand new, with everything we needed. We were well served at reception at check-in and check-out. My only grouse is the lack of parking, not unusual for city hotels, but inconvenient in the arctic temperatures we were confronted with in this visit. But this would not deter me from returning at the first possible opportunity.

Room Tip: I paid a little extra for an upgrade and thought it was worth it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dukes Palace Hotel for two nights in October of this year. There is no question that the hotel is extremely stylish and ideally located in a quiet grand courtyard central to the boutiques and tourist attractions of the city. However, we were very disappointed with some issues we had in our room and the attitude of the staff. One of our night lights didn’t work and we were slightly surprised that instead of replacing it they moved another normal lamp over to the bedside table.

Following this we realized that the air-conditioning in the room didn't work (and indeed would not do so for the whole of our stay despite us alerting the staff at the hotel over the time we were there). The final issue was a broken fuse in our room that plunged us into darkness on the second night of our stay on three separate occasions. The staff were not particularly helpful and we were made to feel that we were not turning on the light switch correctly or understanding how the air-conditioning worked.

We were disappointed as this is not what you would expect from a 5* hotel and no part refund was made available to us for the period of our stay and the hotel was unable to offer us another room. We were given some complimentary toiletries and finally there was some concession that we had been inconvenienced but by then the luxury break we had been planning wasn’t quite what we had expected. I would not recommend this hotel unless the staff re-evaluated the way they treat their guests who are paying a lot of money to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are staying here for three nights and find this to be very well run and beautiful. The staff seems to be well trained to run a fine hotel.... location is great also. Rooms quite large and comfortable. If you can afford it you certainly should stay here. Those detractorrs here on TA certainly have some sort of ax to grind. Too bad for them... the need to learn how to enjoy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank NCPilot253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Duke´s palace in Bruge for a night on a longer Belgium trip in July 2013.
The location of this hotel is ideal, the city centre is at walking distance.
The room was spacious, and nicely furnished, with a relatively big bathroom as well! On top of that I have to say it is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at!
We also enjoyed the breakfast, which also offered tasty belgian chocolate and champagne!
I "booked" a welcome drink as well; however this was given to me in a form of a coupon to use at the bar, and after me having to ask for it, (I expected them to give me the coupons directly at the check in). I had the feeling that the service lacked that extra touch of friendliness to be expected from such hotel.
We enjoyed a drink at the back garden, the setting made us feel like royalty!
The palace itself offers a magical atmosphere, I haven´t been at any other hotel in Bruge but I think the setting can´t get any better! I can highly recommend this hotel, in Bruge is it definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stunning Hotel that really gives the WOW factor as you approach it down a narrow street, with the round fairly tale castle type turret. Fantastically situated but a little hidden, 2 minutes walk from the main square. Luxurious rooms, communal areas and bar...spotlessly clean and the staff couldn't do enough for you....comes highly recommended! Book it when you see a good deal you wont be disappointed..breakfast is pricey though at 25 Euros per day...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and well located but really hard to find! It's in a walking distance of the places to visit
The room was comfortable and clean! And the staff very helpfull!
We are certanlly coming again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mclaudiabravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £130 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing