We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Brugges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We arrived in Brugges without reservations and stumbled across this property on our way to another we had found on trip advisor. We are so glad we did! Spent two excellent nights in a Jr. Suite which was very clean and well appointed (no view from this particular room on the 1st floor, but we spent most of our time walking through the city during daylight hours anyway). The front desk agents were very helpful in securing restaurant reservations and helped us track down our lost luggage from the airline. The location is excellent - close to two shopping streets, yet in a quiet corner away from the hustle and bustle of the city squares. The property itself was supposedly the castle that inspired the German fairytale about Rapunzel. Very charming and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room on a higher floor if you want a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

On arrival at the dukes palace you see what looks like a castle, it looks amazing and fills you with excitement. We went inside and it was stunning. We arrived early so they offered to look after our luggage whilst we explored the city, we started with drinks in the bar which was decorated beautifully for christmas. When we returned our superior room was ready, it was large, comfortable and quiet. I had read on previous trip advisors that there were no kettles in the room so we took our own and also had porridge for breakfast. We can't speak for the food in the hotel as we thought it expensive however the hospitality was second to none. Even had a turn down team at night!! Marco the concierge helped us to organise taxis and trains when returning by Eurostar, he was very helpful. The gym, pool and sauna were small but great to have in Brugge, not many hotels do. We are thinking of going again in the summer, would recommend it to anyone it's in a perfect location, clean, quiet and friendly

Room Tip: Garden rooms... Quiet away from the street and views of the big red dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisahelenakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I should start by saying that we didn't actually book this hotel! Rather, we'd booked our 2-night stay at the Hot Aragon, which is a 4* sister hotel to this 5* one. They'd had an issue with the reservation system so we'd been booked here instead.

We arrived at the hotel and it had instant wow-factor. It's a stunning building! At the reception desk, the staff couldn't so enough for you. We were upgraded to a suite and received complimentary cava as an apology for the inconvenience caused by the booking system. Quite frankly, we didn't mind! This place and our room was simply wonderful.

The rooms are spacious - even without the suite element. The bar and lounge areas are attractive and comfortable.

The breakfasts were lovely too. Each morning, they had cava on once and different variations or Belgian chocolate on offer as well as your usual cold plates/cooked items etc. There was a very good selection indeed.

We didn't dine at the hotel so can't comment on that. We did use the spa facilities though which were small but well kept.

As we hasn't booked this hotel, we didn't pay the usually rates but looking online, I could see that a room such as ours ordinarily cost in the region of €400+. It is on the expensive side...and I'm not sure I'd have paid that personally. But we loved it here.

Finally, location. It's right off one of the main shopping streets - not that you'd know, as its quiet there. And it's about a 3 min walk to the Belfry.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THarris_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Dukes Palace last weekend had a lovely Christmas ambience for the festive season created by the elegant decorations.This combined with attentive warm friendly staff at the front desk and lounge/ bar area made the hotel a perfect central location to chill after visiting the very busy market and retail shopping areas.Superior rooms are large,comfortable and spotless.A 5 star experience with the comfortable feel of a boutique hotel.Highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ekirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A five star `luxury hotel'? Did not feel we got off to a good start when arriving on a dark , wet Sunday night to find that the restaurant was closed and that the one recommended turned out to be shut and most others shut or just about booked up. Nor were we or our luggage escorted to our room- something that Thistle Hotels managed with a smile on our return to London.

The Hotel was elegant with immaculate and spacious rooms. The staff were pleasant and friendly but alas! attention to detail not very sparkling. Used plates were not removed from the table expeditiously even when conspicuously piled up to create space for the next course from the buffet

Although it didn't happen to us, the restaurant `greeter' often disappeared leaving peop[le hanging around like spare parts.

So very much like the curates egg good in parts

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonR213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Central location in old palace, so lots of character and stunning features. Staff were helpful and our room was fantastic. Enormous bed and two amazing views both over courtyard of hotel with its amazing guild sculptures and out over the city centre. Swimming pool was lovely but the spa was not working which was disappointing. No tea and coffee facilities in room but we were brough fresh coffee and croissants free of charge each morning when we complained.

Room Tip: Top floor over looking the courtyard had huge bathroom and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

A fairytale-castle of a hotel with period features, lush décor and sumptuously kitted-out, Dukes' Palace is probably the best hotel I've ever visited. Starting with the room - a superior double - biggest bed I've ever slept in, L'Occataine toiletries, gorgeous furniture, large wet room/shower and separate bath, a charger in the safe (presumably for tablets etc), large TV with all major channels... it was difficult to leave! We did manage to drag ourselves away with high hopes for breakfast and weren't disappointed. Maybe we're not regular-enough visitors to 5* destinations, but the champagne and Belgian chocolate slabs were an unexpected delight - and the rest of the food (usual continental and cooked options, but add smoked salmon, many many juices and the generosity of it all) was just wonderful.

The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was simply lovely. We also liked the gardens with their sculpture and views of the surrounding landmarks.

The staff were really friendly, especially the gentlemen who served us in the bar in the evenings. They were also keen to help us find our way around the city, look after our luggage, call us taxis etc.

On the final morning we rushed down to the spa before breakfast and found wonderful facilities (entirely empty, so we had them to ourselves) which we wished we'd sampled sooner. A beautiful pool and steam and sauna rooms around the corner. Plus the showers down there had higher water pressure than our room, so I was able to wash my hair much quicker.

I have nothing but praise for this hotel and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeOfShalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £122 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing