We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas weekend break”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for the pre Christmas weekend, first time in Bruges, a beautiful city with plenty to keep you occupied. The hotel is certainly not cheap, but when you approach the courtyard you feel like its money well spent.

Reading some previous reviews I would say some (slight) negative points raised we did not experience ourselves. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the concierge very accommodating and helpfully. The room was roomy, clean, comfortable.

The turn down service for us included attention to the beds and chocolates.

It was disappointing not to have free water and hot drink making facilities, I'm not sure whether free hot drinks were available from the bar?

No issues wit the shower temperature or pressure.

One negative for us was the spa. We hadn't booked treatments in advance of arrival, a mistake as they were unable to fit us in. The pool area is pleasant enough, the steam room could perhaps benefit from a scrub there was mildew on the grouting. Some towels were left behind untidily by other users and we saw no one to clean up. The showers didn't get above cold which was a little annoying.

So all in all, a great location, and impressive hotel, we will be looking for a less expensive hotel next visit, but that's not the hotels fault!

One tip, if breakfast isn't included in your deal, there is a cafe called humpy dumpy about 2 minutes walk away, the food is superb, for 12-50 euros you can have a breakfast to die for!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBirmingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,820
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
359
1,756
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have been staying in Bruges number of times before (Montanus and Heritage). We were now looking for a more family oriented hotel , with comfort, good staff and good location. That's the Duke! very comfy rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Indeed a Palace.
for Romantic I would still recommend the Heritage first (and little more expensive), but this hotel is more multitasking all in one: could be romantic stop, business or family hotel. So all worth it!
The only thing: the restaurant is not open on Sunday. Not used to that in a Palace. But minor impact as the staff will help you book a nice restaurant (e.g. the Petit Grand restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for help and guidance. the staff will help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hotel Dukes Palace is a refurbished palace/mansion that has retained a good bit of history but with upscale touches. It is located a short walk from the main square, but far enough away that you are not bombarded all day with the tourist traffic. The service is good, and if you search online enough, you can find a good value.

Room Tip: Make sure to search several travel sites to find a discounted rate on an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from a 3 night break to Bruges. This hotel was a great 5 star stay. Personal professional service with a warm welcome and great service throughout.
The room was very spacious with plenty of storage. I was slightly disappointed in a few areas regarding the bedroom; personally the bed was too soft for me and my husband. There was no bottled water or hospitality tray and the shower temperature was very temperamental going from hot to cold with out warning. These were only slight issues from the hotel being perfect hence my 5 star rating.
Loved the breakfast which was full of choice and unique touch of champagne and chocolate, delicious!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

It is most likely the most majestic hotel in Bruges, located at the heart of the historic district. It is a 5 stars delight with very friendly staff. I would only recommend to add a professional concierge service, as some of the receptionists, are not knowledgeable enough to perform this task. Romantic couples - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The view of the Dukes Palace as you arrive is fantastic as you approach the home of former Burgundian royalty. The building looks every inch prestigious and historic and gives off an air of grace and splendour. Inside you will not be disappointed either as high ceilings and period furnishing add a real elegance to the building. Our room was similarly decorated and really gave the impressions you were staying as the guest of a 15th Century Lord.

The staff on reception and in the lounge bar were very courteous and helpful although I wouldn't go as far as to call them friendly. I found the evening turndown service was a little disappointing as all the maid did was shut the large curtains which for a 5* hotel you would usually expect beds turning down etc but it's hardly a major problem. Also, a lack of complimentary bottled water in the room is a shame as it is generally an accepted norm in 5* hotels.

If you're stuck for restaurant ideas then definitely ask the hotel reception as they picked two fabulous restaurants for us to try which we really enjoyed so they clearly know their stuff. They are also happy to give advice on potential places to visit and again, their suggestions were excellent.

Overall, the only reason I did not give this hotel 5* was because I felt the staff were a little impersonal. Not to say that they were in any way discourteous or unhelpful but I just think they lacked the personal touch. I think if staff members (particularly the concierge and reception) know you by name without having to look it up, always wish you a good morning when you come down and a good night when you go to bed etc just adds that little extra. But maybe that is just my feelings on the matter! Having said that, I would still recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Bruges, the matters outlined above were the small reasons for the Dukes Palace not receiving full marks from myself and when the hotel is 5* and fairly expensive, I do think every aspect needs to exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A lovely stay in Bruges with very helpful service location is right in the heart of Bruges so easy to get to everything only downside was low flow shower we had a pretty view over the courtyard delightfully comfy bed

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing