We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Palace of Bruges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

While it may a little difficult to find, but a car with GPS should bring you right to its beautiful entrance. Car parking is chargeable but with valet service since the car park entrance is around the corner of the hotel's and may be confusing since roads are mostly 1-way in Bruges.
Room was large & spacious, we had a room that was identical to the one printed in their brochure. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was very modern. Great view of the garden from the large windows.
Coffe machine was great, one of those capsule type machine instead of the usual sachets of coffee. Free wifi in room was good. We were a family of four with 2 young children and the room was sufficiently spacious for us. No extra bed needed for us and the hotel did not charge us extra nor insist on us having an additional room. Staff was very friendly, pleasant and communication in English wasn't a problem at all. Overall great stay, highly recommended and will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,511 - 1,517 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

One word to sum it up: rip off. Just back from our mini honeymoon in Dukes Palace. It was such a let down. I love staying in 5 star hotels because it feels like your spoiling yourself and I generally think its worth the money but in no way was this worth the money. €578 for 2 nights in a room without a bath (even though clearly stated on website as room having one), no tea/coffee making facilities (how mean!), tv wouldn't work properly (picture fuzzy, kept turning off in middle of film, buttons on remote kept sticking), room was relatively small, power on shower poor and kept going from roasting hot to freezing. Then to top it all off, it was our honeymoon and there wasn't as much as a token belgian chocolate in our room as a "happy honeymoon", I thought that was extremely miserable, when I told my family about this, all 5 of my brothers had been provided grand fruit baskets/champagne/something when arriving in their honeymoon room! I was so excited about this hotel and thought it was the biggest rip off. I will be back to bruge with my family again as bruges was gorgeous but I will definitely be staying elsewhere. The breakfast was pretty average as well, apart from champagne and the belgian chocolate the rest is just the standard you would get in any 4 star and the coffee was poor and always luke warm to the extent it was cold by the cold I was finishing it. Unless you are really set on staying in a 5 star hotel i would advise to stay in one of the many beautiful 4 star hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferGlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Very bad quality of the rooms : rust in the bathroom, bad bed (too soft), bad paintings on the walls, etc. This is a 3 stars hotel, not a 5 stars. And rooms should be priced 100/120 euros / night, no more. Totally not good value for money !

You have to pay for a decent wifi.

We had a reservation 7 days before our arrival. 24 hours before, they made us confirm the reservation within a 6 hours deadline, asking us a credit card number via email !!! (I thought this was a scam, but they called me, they seemed serious). This is unacceptable, especially since I already gave my credit card number on my booking reservation, 7 days before our stay !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were on our honeymoon, so wanted perfection with life memories at stake. The room we had booked was the junior suite in the old part of the house. I did ask for an upgrade but there were non available, that being said our room was spectacular in its historic charm (but a little dark).

The hotel is expensive, but Bruges is expensive anyway so you get what you pay for. Dukes Palace is a very imposing building with many people not actually staying there taking pictures of it. I drove there from the UK and the valet parking was painless but 25€ a day which is slightly more than if you make your own parking arrangements.

The hotel is very clean with great levels of service and manicured staff. There is a smallish gym which is limited but why go to Bruges to go the gym! The steam room and sauna are very good (be aware of naked Europeans!) and the pool is small but nice.

Having paid for breakfast which had bumped the price up I was hoping for something special.... Where do I begin, if you are in to smoked salmon and champagne with Belgium chocolate and a selection of cheeses, they you will not go far wrong. I genuinely did not know what to eat/drink next, every taste of hot cold European breakfast was catered for.

In summary an expensive but classy hotel which is located centrally within minutes of the square, which makes the extra cost worthwhile.

Room Tip: The historic rooms have bags of character but by their nature may be on the small side for the money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaz868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went for 5 days in a garden suite over Xmas as a family of Americans in from Dubai. Everyone we asked told us that 5 days in Bruges was too long, even at Xmas.. WELL, largely because of this hotel and it's staff, not true. We had a great time, were very well taken care of and couldn't have enjoyed it more. As others have mentioned, not cheap but worth every penny.

Positives.. we've travelled a lot.. This is in the top couple most beautiful hotels in the world we have stayed in. It was a palace and looks like one. The outside is spectacular, the inside very beautiful. The staircase at the front desk is worth stopping and staring. Lots of pictures taken.

The breakfast was top couple we've ever had the pleasure of attending. Fresh meats, cheese, smoked salmon and halibut, fresh fruit, pancakes (Belgian style), bacon, sausage, eggs, fresh juices, yogurt, etc. No cooking station but all really great quality. Additionally, a table set up with sparkling wine (Spanish and very good) and some great big chocolate blocks you could cut your own off of. All really top quality

Great little bar in house.

The suite we were in was very spacious and was in the courtyard, not the main building. Very quiet and well appointed. Probably the only nit we had the entire 5 days was that we had a kitchenette area (fridge, microwave, counter, etc) but it wasn't stocked with plates, utensils, etc.. We had to ask a couple times which was sort of head scratching. But once stocked, it really was useful as we bought some good beer, cheese, etc and were able to hang out and have fun in the room during some particularly rainy periods.

Service was great. Exceptionally nice people with great tips. We should have done better homework, we did not know Bruges would be so busy at Xmas time or that restaurants would completely shut down. On Christmas Eve it was actually shut down the most and they found us a great little restaurant to eat at.

Workout room a little small. Only 4 machines. Pool very nice but smallish

Location was prime. Two blocks from the Market. Steps from some very nice wine and cheese shops. Canals right out the back. Of course Bruges is not hard to walk around as everything is close but this was a great location.

Certainly would be a great place for a long weekend. Very romantic setting. Families were also all over at the hotel.

Additionally we just thought Bruges was spectacularly beautiful. A bit touristy in places but the canals, old homes, churches, Belfry, cobblestone streets, quaint restaurants were just amazing. We'll go back in spring time and go biking somewhere.

Two restaurants.. both small and really quaint.. One was called Chagall and was very close to the hotel. Great fish soup and mussels. Also a large number of really good beers on draught. Very low key and not fancy. The second was Le Petit Patron which was fondue. We went twice with the kids. Great setting, great quality, really fun to do.

Room Tip: if you are going as a family and would normally get two rooms, consider the garden suite with the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledtau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for the pre Christmas weekend, first time in Bruges, a beautiful city with plenty to keep you occupied. The hotel is certainly not cheap, but when you approach the courtyard you feel like its money well spent.

Reading some previous reviews I would say some (slight) negative points raised we did not experience ourselves. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the concierge very accommodating and helpfully. The room was roomy, clean, comfortable.

The turn down service for us included attention to the beds and chocolates.

It was disappointing not to have free water and hot drink making facilities, I'm not sure whether free hot drinks were available from the bar?

No issues wit the shower temperature or pressure.

One negative for us was the spa. We hadn't booked treatments in advance of arrival, a mistake as they were unable to fit us in. The pool area is pleasant enough, the steam room could perhaps benefit from a scrub there was mildew on the grouting. Some towels were left behind untidily by other users and we saw no one to clean up. The showers didn't get above cold which was a little annoying.

So all in all, a great location, and impressive hotel, we will be looking for a less expensive hotel next visit, but that's not the hotels fault!

One tip, if breakfast isn't included in your deal, there is a cafe called humpy dumpy about 2 minutes walk away, the food is superb, for 12-50 euros you can have a breakfast to die for!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RichardBirmingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have been staying in Bruges number of times before (Montanus and Heritage). We were now looking for a more family oriented hotel , with comfort, good staff and good location. That's the Duke! very comfy rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. Indeed a Palace.
for Romantic I would still recommend the Heritage first (and little more expensive), but this hotel is more multitasking all in one: could be romantic stop, business or family hotel. So all worth it!
The only thing: the restaurant is not open on Sunday. Not used to that in a Palace. But minor impact as the staff will help you book a nice restaurant (e.g. the Petit Grand restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for help and guidance. the staff will help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeuk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £122 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing