We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Luxury palace”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We wouldn't usually be able to afford such aristocratic luxury for an anniversary, but thanks to an online deal got our room at a very good price. The building is amazing and the rooms are sumptous. We had a view over the gardens with their fun modern sculptures offsetting the 15th century grandeur. Bruges really is like a fairytale, especially in winter, and this was an enchanting session. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway.

One word of warning - breakfast is not included, and is pricey. We probably should've realised that when the waiters wheeled out the champagne!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieTheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
358
1,754
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel based on its 5 star rating and location. It far exceeded our expectations in every way. The hotel was beautiful from the outside and inside. The staff was polite and took care of any and all our requests.
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room was large and comfortable as well as the bathroom. The hotel staff were always courteous and helpful--willing to do a little extra to make things simpler. Close to the downtown area, yet still off the beaten path enough to make it a sanctuary to return to. Would definitely recommend and return to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaJoyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a perfect hotels very clean comfy large room gorgeous bathroom with heated floor. Breakfast superb everything you could wish for including champagne and chocolateVery central to centre. Would recommend to couples

Room Tip: Choose a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good points:

Beautiful, inside and out.
Friendly staff
Lovely breakfast
Great bar
Great location
L'occitane products
Turn down service and goodnight chocolate


Disappointing points:

The website says that superior rooms have a bath, we just had a shower which was a shame.
Our room wasn't ready on time.
We had said whilst booking that it was our tenth wedding anniversary. Although I shouldn't expect anything, every 3/4/5 star hotel we have stayed in on a special occasion has either upgraded us, given some wine or chocolates in the room or at least acknowledged us with a 'congratulations'. Nice to have a dressing gown but they are rock hard.
TV volume was very strange, could hear music or background noise but not the speaking very well unless we turned it up really loud but then everything else was blaring out.
Bed was very soft.

A lovely hotel but not up to a five star standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath as even though the website states bath, they do not all have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandDEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for a surprise trip to Bruges for my fiancé's 30th birthday. The hotel was very impressive - beautiful inside and out. The bedroom was lovely (we stayed in a deluxe room) - spacious and comfortable with a very good standard bathroom. The staff were all very friendly and professional. The location was great - a two minute walk from the main square. We had breakfast at the hotel and I thoroughly recommend it. There was a huge selection of food, with chocolate and champagne to finish it off. I cannot fault this hotel, and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a stopover by our trip to the belgian coast.When we arrived at the check in the doorman brought our car to the hotel carpark.The room was just their standard room but with a decent size and modern bathroom with l'Occitane toiletries.The next morning it was quite busy at breakfast,but they have a large breakfast room with an additional room where it was more quiet.This is one of the best breakfasts I had staying in an hotel in Belgium.A lot of choice,sparkling wine and huge blocks of chocolate to serve yourself.After checkout the doorman just parked our car again in front of the entrance.Good experience for a short stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing