We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to impress more as a 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel was very comfortable and clean but there is something missing for five stars. The breakfast is varied but set out in more than one room and this is not explained to everyone. The reception staff are helpful but very busy at certain times of the day, our request to make a restaurant booking seemed to be a nuisance as people were checking in - we later found it had not been done, luckily the one of our choice was not booked up. Not all staff are pleasant, one particular young lady was noticeable each breakfast time, quite surly in attitude, we came across her again mid afternoon when we wanted coffee and a snack on the terrace area, it was as though we were an intrusion into her day. I question the quality of staff training at this hotel if this young lady is allowed to behave in this way. We ate in the restaurant one evening, all we'll cooked and presented, but little choice, I would recommend eating out.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the garden was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We were placed in this hotel via our River cruise Co. We arrived very early in the morning making it difficult to check in since regular check in is 3. Our cruise rep. spoke with front desk & the accommodated us. Our room was listed as a "superior rm.". Bed, wc, bath all acceptable but we lacked a view. On our 2 night we woke to water running. A water leak sprung in our bath ceiling. Management showed up promptly & moved us to a Suite within 20 minutes. The new room was beautiful & management made all the necessary adjustments promptly. Our breakfast was ok, lunch in Bar was good - a goat cheese salad. Location was fantastic & tucked away from the busy square. Lovely courtyard as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHomeStager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just back from a wonderful 3 night stay at this fabulous hotel. The location is perfect right in the middle of Bruges just a few minutes stroll to Markt Our third floor room was spacious, beautifully furnished and equipped, with an enormous super-comfortable bed and a bathroom that had both a deep bath and walk in shower. We even had a great view of the pretty garden with its giant red poodle! The breakfast is terrific.....great selection of fruits, cereals, yogurts, bread, cakes and pastries, cold meats and cheeses, hot buffet, even chocolate and champagne!
All the staff were really helpful, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about our stay at Hotel Dukes Palace. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and luxurious, and it was in a fabulous location in Bruges.

i recommend the garden-view rooms -- we woke up to an incredible view of Bruges every morning. The rooms came with a luxurious robe and slippers, a nice big bathroom, and very comfortable bed. We ended every night with a nightcap at the hotel bar, which I recommend. Additionally, the front desk staff are very willing to help point out places to visit in Bruges, including recommending a restaurant and booking the reservations for us one night.

All in all, Dukes Palace was a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff - great, large, comfortable bedroom with a sensible size bathroom - wonderful location - they must serve the best breakfast selection in Bruges! We will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mgm2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from a romantic two night break at this hotel. I prefer old world traditional unlike my partner who prefers contemporary and since he booked he won!! However I certainly enjoyed my stay here - old world meets modern in an elegant twist. Give it a go I know you won't be disappointed!!
And trust in the young male recommendations for restaurants and bars- spot on!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

So the hotel would have got 5 out of 5, but there were some issues.

Firstly we were allocated a room on the top floor, but it became apparent that there was some sort of mechanical device that was making a persistent low hum that was quite annoying once you've heard it.

So we changed rooms to the 4th floor. No mechanical hum. But the bed was a pull down bed that had a hard wooden surround that meant that you were guaranteed to clip your toes and ankles at every opportunity.

So we spoke to the manager - who offered us free breakfast the next day - a very nice gesture.

Lastly - please get a duster and dust the stairs behind reception. Just because the general public don't use them that often doesn't mean they have to be passed over for cleaning. You could write your name in the dust as it was that thick.

Overall a very nice hotel - like I said it would have had 5 starts but for a few niggles.

Room Tip: Get a garden view room as they are very quiet - eventually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecontroller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £134 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing