We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was a bit disappointed by this hotel. It is beautiful and the location is perfect but there were several issues that didn't fit with it's 5 star status.
The main issue was lack of soundproofing. The location is beautifully quiet off the main road but the rooms don't seem to have any sound proofing from each other. When we checked in our room had a door connecting to the room next door. We could hear the news on next doors TV clear enough to follow the story. We asked to change rooms and were told this would mean a downgrade from a superior room to a standard room (as that was only room they had available without a connecting door). I said that was fine as long as we only paid a standard room rate - and was told we'd still have to pay the superior rate. I was rather shocked by that attitude. After a lot of debate someone else took over and found a superior room without a connecting door. It had a large stain on the carpet so presumably that is why they weren't using the room.
What surprised me is that after all this initial fuss no one checked at a later time that all was ok or apologised for the problem. The attitude was very much that we were the ones with the problem for not wanting to stay in a room where we could hear everything the people in the next room said and what they watching in television. They weren't rude, just indifferent.
Other little things like having no complimentary water or tea/coffee making facilities seemed lacking for a 5 star. Also they have got rid of their pool and their spa is now a rather sparse area with a steam room (which was out of service when we were there) and a sauna and some showers.
If the room rate for this hotel was lower it would be fine but as it is I think they are charging 5 star prices for 4 star facilities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LVHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Sadly we only had the opportunity to stay for one night - I would have loved to stay a few more. Breakfast was fabulous - especially loved the champagne and chocolate! The hotel has recently been remodeled, and everything was immaculate and fresh. The room was very comfortable, both temperature and accommodations. The location is perfect. Just a hop, skip and a jump to shopping, dining and the many attractions Bruges has to offer. We did not have a chance to use the spa facilities since we were there for such a short amount of time. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. No complaints.
Expedia customers beware!!!! The day before our stay, we received about 10 email messages, and 7 voice mails from Expedia informing us that there was a problem with our hotel reservations because the hotel was closed for renovations. Even after we called the hotel to confirm that they were open and that our reservations were intact, the messages from Expedia continued. We also contacted Expedia to tell them that their information was incorrect, and the messages did not stop until the day after we left the hotel!!!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the garden would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YngSilverfox39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a fabulous two night stay at this hotel. We arrived sunday lunchtime. Very central. Reception were exceptionally helpful explaining about things to do and where to eat We found a fab place for lunch and great place in the evening called Olive Tree under their recommendation. Hotel room was lovely overlooked gardens. Breakfast was wonderful lots of choice and even had large slabs of dark, milk & white chocolate with champagne on offer. Not sure whether that was normal or because it was valentines weekend. We had aperitifs in the bar which had a lovely ambience. We didnt eat evening meal in the hotel but there was plenty of choice in Bruges. Spa was being refurbished so didnt experience that. We were told to avoid the square as overpriced and not that good. A big thank you to all the reception staff as whenever we asked questions they were exceptionally helpful.

Room Tip: Choose room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for two nights. Beautiful and well appointed large room, plenty of wardrobe space and nice seating area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Can't believe it is 5* more like a 4*. Good location and parking.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Upgraded to this hotel, I guess due to the Tour of Flanders cycling.
What a result, great location, great staff, Marlies on reception (thanks for your recommendations) & Nina at the brilliant breakfasts.
Only negative was the room was really warm, struggled to get the AC to function as I expected.
Thanks for the stay ;-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Not worth the money, barely 3 star hotel in reality. Smelled of paint, not enough products, no trash cans, and unhelpful staff. Honestly felt like a hostel in the room althought the grounds are lovely. certainly not worth 300 euro!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank kstarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel was very comfortable and clean but there is something missing for five stars. The breakfast is varied but set out in more than one room and this is not explained to everyone. The reception staff are helpful but very busy at certain times of the day, our request to make a restaurant booking seemed to be a nuisance as people were checking in - we later found it had not been done, luckily the one of our choice was not booked up. Not all staff are pleasant, one particular young lady was noticeable each breakfast time, quite surly in attitude, we came across her again mid afternoon when we wanted coffee and a snack on the terrace area, it was as though we were an intrusion into her day. I question the quality of staff training at this hotel if this young lady is allowed to behave in this way. We ate in the restaurant one evening, all we'll cooked and presented, but little choice, I would recommend eating out.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the garden was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £122 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing