We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Wonderful History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Wonderful History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved staying in a Palace in the most beautiful city in the world. The location was great and the rooms were very comfortable with the luxuries of a palace, including heated bathroom floors. You won't go wrong staying at this propery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyDShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    524
    170
    55
    34
See reviews for
340
1,671
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here the weekend of 24th-26th May 2014 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My husband's first words were "you sure know how to pick 'em" it was stunning from the outside and gorgeous inside. Very cool and whilst there was a contemporary feel to the hotel, it still retained old charm especially if you were to pay extra and stay in the original tower section. Nevertheless, our room was large, far larger than most 5* deluxe properties with a gorgeous big bathroom and separate shower area which I think all hotels should have but I know that some are compromised on space. Breakfast was simply delicious, vast array of cooked and cold plus of course, Belgian Chocolate on offer which you shave off with a big chefs double handled knife, chocolate in a variety of plain, white and milk!!Also the standard champagne on offer too. The staff were ever so friendly advising us where to go in Bruges and we arrived at 12:00noon and our room was ready 3 hours before stipulated so I cannot fault this hotel. It certainly lived up to it's 5* status. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Choosing a room is very much up to your pocket. If you can afford to choose a room in the old tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked last minute and got a superb rate. We were given a duplex room next to the chapel. It had two double beds, one upstairs and one down, so spoilt for choice! The hotel is beautiful, decorated in tasteful decor, in keeping with age of the property. There is a car park at the rear but we didn't use this as there is a underground car park a few minutes walk away. Breakfast was superb with just about everything you would ever want, this is self serve. Hotel is situated within the centre of Bruges, literally a few strides from main thoroughfare, but once you turn the corner to walk towards the hotel everything is quiet. Staff are exceedingly friendly, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had room 206 which was a duplex room and would be great for families or just for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Couldn't be in a better location for the centre, stayed 3 nights, very good large bedroom, bathroom, wardrobe space etc. Our room also had a separate bath plus shower cubicle. Beds were very large & comfy and everywhere was spotless. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room (maybe this is a UK thing?) We had breakfast included, great variety and even chocolate & bubbly too, a very indulgent & delicious extra. We also had cocktails in the bar, again really lovely. If we had to find a negative it was the spa, a bit small and since the renovations the pool had disappeared. We were expecting to spend an odd hour or two there, especially when it rained but not spacious enough for more than 3 or 4 people. However, the hot stone massage was superb and I thought the price was very reasonable. The spa treatments were not advertised on the hotel website but I emailed and a pdf copy was sent to me very quickly and efficiently answered my queries and I prebooked a treatment. All in all, we were delighted.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor overlooking the garden & red poodle, it was very quiet at night and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnstonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This 5* hotel was the best! Our superior double room was luxurious and the bed was so comfortable, we had the best 3 nights sleep ever! The bathroom was brilliant, with a seperate shower cubicle, and all the added facilities you need. The staff were very friendly, and as our room wasn't quite ready at 3pm, we were given a free glass of Cava while we waited 10 minutes, and our luggage was brought up to our room. The bar and gardens were lovely to sit in, and felt as if we were in a 5* Hotel The breakfast was amazing, with every choice of breakfast food you can imagine, including chocolate and Cava on ice! We couldn't fault our stay, and are already looking to book 2 nights before Christmas to visit Bruges Christmas Market. Thankyou Dukes Palace for a fabulous 3 nights, and Bruges is also a wonderful city, cant wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved our weekend in Bruges. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were stunning and the location was excellent. We both had the best nights sleep there - and decided we needed a new bed on our return as the beds there had been so comfortable! The only negative I'd say was that the food/breakfast was pricey.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrainneIreland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stay at many hotels as a business traveller and have to say I loved this hotel as soon as I walked in. It has a positive and welcoming vibe to it. Check in was prompt and friendly. My room was luxurious and cozy all at the same time. Cozy as in warm and welcoming, definitely not small! Bathroom was also very large with a superb shower cubicle and separate bath tub.
Breakfast was a feast. Classical music for the ears, bone china plates, prosecco and Belgian chocolate as well as the usual breakfast items!
My only negative comment would be the gym opening hours. It would be good to be access it from 6am. An 8am opening doesn't work when your meetings start at 8.30am. It is open until 10pm but if you like to work out at the start of the day, then an earlier opening would be great.
The hotel is in within easy walking reach of all the main attractions and I can't wait to go back.
It was a welcome break from the usual business chain hotels I stay in! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punam71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing