We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel for short break”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Dukes Palace in Bruge and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The facilities were excellent, fantastic room, lovely bar and beautiful restaurant. The location is also ideal, in a great part of town with everything within easy walking distance. We were staying with our 14 month old daughter and they made every accommodation for her, providing a cot and a highchair at breakfast and allowing us to take her for an early dinner in the restaurant. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only downside is the lack of a pool, but the gym and sauna/steam room were very good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    553
    181
    56
    35
See reviews for
365
1,778
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Admittedly, this is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Service, however, was at times lacking. The front desk was very friendly but unfamiliar with many restaurants. They recommended Le Petit Grand, which was very disappointing (separate review). Additionally, we had much trouble with internet service and had to make 3 trips to front desk for help. Lastly, maid service came repeatedly while we were still in room. Knocked on our door twice each day, even on day we were checking out. If these service areas were improved, it truly would be a 5 star experience. I would give it another try if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was so lovely, clean and inviting. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast i've had in a long time with so much choice and it was all very fresh. The room (junior deluxe suit) was really comfortable and clean. The bed was amazing! The location was really central and it was very easy to get to the Markt and various tourist spots close by. my only complaint was the room was a little too hot but there was air conditioning which we could put on to cool it down. Slightly noisy but not really something that bothered us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved staying in a Palace in the most beautiful city in the world. The location was great and the rooms were very comfortable with the luxuries of a palace, including heated bathroom floors. You won't go wrong staying at this propery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyDShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here the weekend of 24th-26th May 2014 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My husband's first words were "you sure know how to pick 'em" it was stunning from the outside and gorgeous inside. Very cool and whilst there was a contemporary feel to the hotel, it still retained old charm especially if you were to pay extra and stay in the original tower section. Nevertheless, our room was large, far larger than most 5* deluxe properties with a gorgeous big bathroom and separate shower area which I think all hotels should have but I know that some are compromised on space. Breakfast was simply delicious, vast array of cooked and cold plus of course, Belgian Chocolate on offer which you shave off with a big chefs double handled knife, chocolate in a variety of plain, white and milk!!Also the standard champagne on offer too. The staff were ever so friendly advising us where to go in Bruges and we arrived at 12:00noon and our room was ready 3 hours before stipulated so I cannot fault this hotel. It certainly lived up to it's 5* status. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Choosing a room is very much up to your pocket. If you can afford to choose a room in the old tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked last minute and got a superb rate. We were given a duplex room next to the chapel. It had two double beds, one upstairs and one down, so spoilt for choice! The hotel is beautiful, decorated in tasteful decor, in keeping with age of the property. There is a car park at the rear but we didn't use this as there is a underground car park a few minutes walk away. Breakfast was superb with just about everything you would ever want, this is self serve. Hotel is situated within the centre of Bruges, literally a few strides from main thoroughfare, but once you turn the corner to walk towards the hotel everything is quiet. Staff are exceedingly friendly, definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had room 206 which was a duplex room and would be great for families or just for yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Couldn't be in a better location for the centre, stayed 3 nights, very good large bedroom, bathroom, wardrobe space etc. Our room also had a separate bath plus shower cubicle. Beds were very large & comfy and everywhere was spotless. No coffee/tea making facilities in the room (maybe this is a UK thing?) We had breakfast included, great variety and even chocolate & bubbly too, a very indulgent & delicious extra. We also had cocktails in the bar, again really lovely. If we had to find a negative it was the spa, a bit small and since the renovations the pool had disappeared. We were expecting to spend an odd hour or two there, especially when it rained but not spacious enough for more than 3 or 4 people. However, the hot stone massage was superb and I thought the price was very reasonable. The spa treatments were not advertised on the hotel website but I emailed and a pdf copy was sent to me very quickly and efficiently answered my queries and I prebooked a treatment. All in all, we were delighted.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor overlooking the garden & red poodle, it was very quiet at night and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnstonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing