We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT FOR ME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NOT FOR ME”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked this hotel for 4 nights in May.It was not my first choice but Bruges was very busy so I had little choice.I arrived by car and the Hotel was not easy to find as it is not on my sat nav because it changed name recently so check its in your nav system before you arrive.
The Hotel is a beautifull building and really well located within walking distance of everything.
The reception area is very small and if two or three parties are there at any one time its overcrowded.The check in was very perfunctory key just handed over and told where the lift was.There was no one about to unload the bags so I did that and left them in the reception area,as I was bringing in the last one of 4 someone offered to help.I said I would have thought that there would be people to bring in the bags but was told "they are busy".When the bags were delivered to the room I got 8 delivered mine plus someone elses.
The restaurant was fully booked for the first two nights,no room for hotel guests!!!!!! now that's 5*service.
The room was very small with a beautiful view of air conditioning units and dogs barking on a flat roof across the lane it was room 528(I think) there was a large crack in the sink and the bathroom was not all that clean,no tea/coffee making facilities.
I noticed that WIFI was free for "basic" very slow and unreliable service but there was a daily charge for an upgrade. This really annoys me that any hotel would charge for WIFI.BRUGE HISTORIC CITY WIFI IS FREE IN THE STREET.
The service in the bar is really slow and not efficient , it should be both as the cost of 2 G&T was €26.00
The staff were in general very supercilious and could do with a course from some tourist organisation it improve their manner.
The restaurant was really fab great food, its expensive but worth it.
I will not return to this hotel and do not recommend it.i fail to understand how a hotel like this can achieve 5* it is misleading to consumers who expect top quality everything if they pay for 5*

Room Tip: try to get a room that looks out to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinjoecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,790
    539
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
354
1,731
33
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is a little bit of a sleeper, tucked away on a back street. It is very well located, just a short walk to the city center. The rooms are lovely. The breakfast was amazing. The staff was warm, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in Dukes' Palace after a post-extension of our Viking River Cruise. It is an amazing place to stay. Hotel is very luxurious/regal in appearance. Service/staff was excellent. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. And I think the most memorable part of the hotel was the buffet breakfast! The location is perfect, only about 2min walking to the main square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Dukes Palace in Bruge and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The facilities were excellent, fantastic room, lovely bar and beautiful restaurant. The location is also ideal, in a great part of town with everything within easy walking distance. We were staying with our 14 month old daughter and they made every accommodation for her, providing a cot and a highchair at breakfast and allowing us to take her for an early dinner in the restaurant. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only downside is the lack of a pool, but the gym and sauna/steam room were very good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Admittedly, this is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms are lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. Service, however, was at times lacking. The front desk was very friendly but unfamiliar with many restaurants. They recommended Le Petit Grand, which was very disappointing (separate review). Additionally, we had much trouble with internet service and had to make 3 trips to front desk for help. Lastly, maid service came repeatedly while we were still in room. Knocked on our door twice each day, even on day we were checking out. If these service areas were improved, it truly would be a 5 star experience. I would give it another try if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel was so lovely, clean and inviting. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast i've had in a long time with so much choice and it was all very fresh. The room (junior deluxe suit) was really comfortable and clean. The bed was amazing! The location was really central and it was very easy to get to the Markt and various tourist spots close by. my only complaint was the room was a little too hot but there was air conditioning which we could put on to cool it down. Slightly noisy but not really something that bothered us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Loved staying in a Palace in the most beautiful city in the world. The location was great and the rooms were very comfortable with the luxuries of a palace, including heated bathroom floors. You won't go wrong staying at this propery.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StacyDShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing