We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapointment at the Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Qingdao
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Disapointment at the Palace”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and i love Brugge, so for 3 nights we decided to stay in the only 5-star hotel, Hotel Dukes Palace. This was a very charming hotel, with excellent sized rooms, soft bed, and beautiful bathroom. A strong suggestion if you go by car, drive to the hotel main reception and leave your bags, then park the car in the underground car-park, there is no elevator - just several stairs which is tricky to ascend with a suitcase or two. Parking 25 Euro per night. Our room had a fairly good view, looking toward three of the tall churches in the town. The rooms and hotel are very clean, and all staff seem very pleased to help and offer assistance. One point, our sink did have a huge crack which really should have been replaced. Breakfast is good quality with quite a large choice, including chocolate and champagne. Sadly for us, the hot breakfast buffet always seemed warm - not hot. The bar Atelier is a relaxing area both inside and out, the staff are great, thanks Margot, and always happy to see you. You do get free wi-fi which is very useful. The restaurant was sadly not as expected and not open on Sunday, not to worry, plenty of other restaurants nearby. For the folks who like fitness, there is a fitness centre, but no pool. Overall its a good base and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms get a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    530
    174
    55
    34
See reviews for
347
1,706
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We arrived and the staff were lovely. Went up to the bedroom, great view of the delightfully strange garden with the massive red poodle and Wonderland-esque rabbit statue. Beds were so comfy and the had a great bathroom with the tv speakers and a window to watch the tv from the bath. Also the decor was just right as well. The breakfast was great with 3 buffet locations for different kinds of breakfast, one including these massive bars of chocolate you had to shave chunks off; never done chocolate for breakfast before (no pain au chocolat, nutella or various chocolate filled cereals are not the same and don't count) and it was actually really nice, though I think making a habit of it possibly isn't the best idea for your waistline. We went to the garden once for a quick beer before are planned spa and then night seeing the utterly beautiful city. This is where I'm going to be a bit less praising. Although the garden was lovely, we had to wait forever for our beers to arrive and we really wanted to be getting on; it turned from a quick half to a frustrating waste of time. I had been quite happy to get them when I ordered them, but was told they would bring them out. We ended up commenting to each on how they seemed to just be pottering around not doing much while we waited for them to get two small glasses and briefly pull a handle twice. The complementary snacks were tasty but much too little and far too late. Next we went for our spa :( Having a spa was something I had purposely looked for when getting the hotel, and at the time of looking (and in fact the time of my stay) a pool was advertised in the material. I really wanted at least either a pool or jacuzzi, and with a 5 star hotel I expected both. They had got rid of that, and what is in its place seemed a bit poor; though that maybe because we felt so let down. If it hadn't of been something that had been part of the plan of our stay there I would have given them a higher rating, but it was really a let down for our own holiday - if you don't care about the spa at all then it's a 4 rating, could possibly be a 5 if the long wait to be served I mentioned is not usual. I should also say that when we wanted to leave stuff there during the day and get a lift to the train station they were very attentive and lovely. You will love Bruges!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Duke's Palace in Bruges for three nights. It was an enjoyable and comfortable stay with a third floor view overlooking their well manicured courtyard. We enjoyed that the hotel was located on a quiet backstreet and still very central to most everything.

There were only a few negatives; the central air didn't really cool the room so we tended to keep the windows open at night to allow for breezes. The bathroom design was a bit strange in that that the shower was difficult to enter due to the height of the tub, the shower door did little to prevent shower water from flooding the bathroom floor and it appeared that they installed speakers wired from the bedroom TV under the sink so that you can hear the TV in the other room, but not see it??.

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and it's location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent three nights at this hotel. On the positive side the restaurant and bar staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very good. However, upon check in, our room did not have a functioning AC system. We were told it was being serviced and would be up and running shortly. Four hours latter it was still not cooling. You would think that management would just move us to another room. Instead they asked us to wait a little longer. Finally after not being able to get the AC to cool, we were moved to another room. To our dismay the AC in this room was not functioning. The hotel management, to our surprise, decided to dismiss our request for a room with a functioning AC. We were completely ignored by management after being moved to the second room that did not have working AC. Consequently we never had AC during our stay. Perhaps the Owners of this hotel would do well by sending their management to an accredited school of hospitality.

Room Tip: We were not able to find a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjv001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel situated in the city center in a historical building. Rooms are bright and spacious. Food served for breakfast and lunch is of a good quality. The only problem of this hotel is poor service: it took 2 days to repair our door, check-in and check-out procedures and laundry/ironing are also not very quick.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leonid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice looking hotel but: First night the a/c was very noisy and didn't let me sleep. Complained and next day they gave me another room, this time the a/c didn't cool down so I decided to cut short my stay and moved to another hotel. Don't waist your good money at the Duke's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank walter02446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing