We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic stay at this hotel. Definitely a 5 star hotel, facilities very good and staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast has a very good choice. Rooms very clean and well equipped. Central location, so ideal for exploring the city. Would recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
358
1,754
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed in Jan 2014 with my girlfriend, with a late deal through Secret Escapes. Hotel looked fantastic, was just off a main road in Bruges but hidden enough to stay quiet. Many people taking pictures of the hotel from outside. Good greeting at reception and we were given a spacious room on the 2nd floor. Would recommend Bruges for a short break, not loads to do but if you like the Belgian beers and good food, you'll love it! Breakfast was very good, even had Belgian chocolate on offer at the buffet! Bar was good in the evenings as well, not a huge range of beers but always came with some savoury snacks which adds a nice touch. Would certainly come back as is a beautiful hotel, not sure I'd get the same deal again though!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Luxury. Very helping staff. Superb wellness center. Wonderful breakfast. Just pamper your self if you can :) luxury hotel in a proper way! Very nice location centrally located. Brugge is a dream city!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K0stas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for Bruge in that it is around 5 mins walk from the main square and all the things you want. It is impressive looking from the outside - looking every inch the historic place it is. Inside it is not the biggest 5 star hotel you'll ever visit but it is comfortable, clean & tastefully done without being 'showy' or stiff as some such 5 star hotels can be. The same also goes for the staff - nothing was too much trouble and not at all pretentious, again as experienced at some 5 star hotels. We ate in the restaurant on our last night - very 'nouvelle cuisine' - but all the same very tasty. As vegetarians we didn't want to eat all fish so the chef made up a very nice alternative, without any fuss. Nice touch. Bedroom was on the 5th floor - again very well done, comfy beds, very clean (and I am very fussy about hygiene!!) however tea & coffee facilities would've been good (very minor point). Breakfast was very nice again - couldn't find fault, really - good quality selection - and the chance to have proper chocolate (not chocolate spread) that you carve from huge chunks of the stuff (well it is Belgium!!).

Overall - lovely time had for our 26th wedding anniversary break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katfish_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Everything you'd want from a nice, classic 5 star place. Check in was smooth and painless, there was a lot of assistance with bags and employees keen with a helping hand. Our room was really nice and spacious (superior double room), the bathroom also spacious, clean and had all amenities.

The hotel is converted from a residence, so there are beautiful high ceilings and really nice periodic features. We did not have breakfast, but I had a coffee in the lobby and got some lovely fresh pastries on the side which was a nice touch. The hotel is also right in the city centre near Grand Place so everything is within walking distance.

Only downside is that it's difficult to drive-in for loading and unloading as some cars (guests?)just park there by the door - think it's something they should start monitoring and managing a bit more. There is an underground car park which is easy to find and belongs to the hotel, but no direct elevator access unfortunately.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice, ours was a superior double and it was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erika2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel - wonderful staff. Service and amenities are fabulous. The restaurant is excellent for dinner . We had 3&4 course dinner with wines and it was superior! The included breakfast is wonderful. The bar and grounds are nice and relaxing! We had a lovely stay here!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virg779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was debating to give it four stars because of L'Occitane toiletries but some hand cream can't justify that amount of stars.
Now let me say there was nothing wrong with our stay, the staff was pleasant, location very convenient and the building beautiful. Was it something special.... no.

I have been to many five-star hotels and resorts and from the moment you step through the door you are made to feel special. I didn't get this from Dukes' Palace - it just felt very clinical.

Again, it is not a bad place to stay but I would look for another hotel when I'm in Bruges next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talleke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing