We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2008

we have been lucky enough to stay in in a lot of nice hotels in the last few years and so we have become quite fussy on where we stay but this was definitely our favourite.

From the moment the taxi pulled up outside the hotel it really did have a wow factor. The staff were friendly but not overbearing which you sometimes get in a 5 star hotel and the hotel was quiet and in a great location.

We didnt have breakfast but would recommend not bothering as the main street is thirty meters away and there are wonderful caffes everywhere and obviously a lot better value.

We will be going back next year hopefully for Christmas markets,

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2008

The Kempinski Dukes Palace deserves to be the best hotel in Bruges, its absolutely stunning, i dont really have any negative comments. From arrival to departure everything was perfect and the staff all extremely helpful. The building itself has been fantastically restored, the most beautiful main stairwell and lovely open public spaces. Location is just right only a few hundred yards to the markt but down a really peaceful side street. A little tip if like me getting a taxi from the train station to the hotel go with the meter rate, i always like to agree a price before to which my unawares of distances etc agreed a price of 10 euros, however the meter rate which i soon discovered after getting a taxi back to the train station to visit the ice sculptures was only 5 euros.
Our room was excellent, loads of beautiful finishing touches, decorated in a elegant way. The bed was so comfy, with a pillow menu if for whatever reason you may have issues with the already fluffy soft pillows already on your bed. Small things like a personal message from the manager, turn down service (which is becoming rarer), complimentary water (everyday not just on the 1st night) and morning newspaper. The bathroom was bliss ,heated floor which in a very cold November week (complete with snow) was very much appreciated. molten brown products of every desciption and a huge shower but with such a beautiful bath who chooses the shower. I particularly like the internal window with blind between the bathroom and bedroom. If i have gripe about anything with this hotel for a 5 star not to have complimentary tea and coffee facilities in your room or at least available through room service is bad, if you would want a tea or coffer you need to pay 5 euros for one downstairs in either the lounge or bar.
I used the spa once not for any treatments but to try the complimentary facilities. The pool was heaven, i was the only one in there so it was even more bliss, small towels are provided so you will need to bring your own towel down. The sauna was out of order and so was the mens changing rooms to which was a sign asking them to use the ladies, so a few teething problems there i expect.
The bar was a nice treat to pop in for a night cap before bed, our 1st night we had the most helpful friendly bar man whose name escapes me, he was kind enough to give us a tasting session of various belgium beers with hints and tips, his devotion and passion was very clear and was definitely a shinning star of the kempinski palace. The bar has a very arty take on it, i really liked the black cat sat right on a top shelf nearly at cealing height, very lifelike i kept thinking he was going to jump down.
Breakfast was definitely the best i have ever had in any hotel, what a spread, dont think anything was missing at all, even complimentary champagne, what a start to the day!!
Bruges is one of the most picture perfect place i have ever been to it truly is a chocolate box town. All the meals we ate were great, however its a expensive place, dont expect to find a cheap meal even off the beaten track. Bruges is very compact and so easy to find your way around. I expect its lovely in the summer but i think it comes into its own in winter, what with the christmas markets, the darker nights to enjoy the lights and well when we went the quieter streets (very few tourists around) winter is the time to visit, we were lucky enough to have a very heavy snowfall for 1 of the days we were there i have never seen such a lovely winter scene.
On the whole Bruges is a fantastic place to visit i recommend it to everyone and Kempinski dukes palace definitely the place to stay for sure, such a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank roseoakhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I took a friend here as a birthday treat and I have to say this hotel did not dissappoint at all! We arrived and were warmly greeted by the hotel valet and reception staff. The hotel is set back from one of the main shopping streets in Bruges and is only a couple of hundred meters from the main square. Its a stunning building and has been recently re-decorated to a very high standard. The building has lots of character and charm and the room was really 6star quality! This hotel is worth every penny and what surprised me was how reasonably priced room service and drinks at the bar were. The pool and health club are in a word beautiful. I cant praise this hotel highly enough, for such a stunning building to house such a beautiful hotel with excellent staff is hard to find these days but I genuinely cant fault the place. If you are heading to Bruge and want to make it a little special stay here, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Two couples - we stayed here in June. It was my favorite hotel of our month long European trip.
My husband's and my room was large, overlooking the grassy area at the rear of the hotel. We loved being able to open the large windows to breath in the fresh air. Such a treat when traveling.
All the rooms that we saw were handsomely appointed. The bathrooms are impeccable too.
The bar was a treat giving attentive service even when busy. Unlike many hotel dining rooms, our dinner here was fantastic. Contemporary food, beautifully presented with delicious flavors. We were impressed because we only dined here because we were tired after a long day of touring.
Best of all was the Front desk service! The young people who staffed it went out of their way to make our Brugge stay special. One day they planned an itinerary for us (we had a car) that included Flanders where we visited the Flanders War Museum - very moving.
And then even more amazing, when in passing we mentioned that we were returning our car to Hertz in Amsterdam, without asking, printed out a route map/plan for us. Without those directions plan we would not have exited at the right place or have found Hertz easily. We are so grateful for their thoughtfulness.

We would recommend this hotel in a heart beat to travelers who want European elegance with American comforts and fantastic staff. Such sweet and caring people.
And yes there is a funny sewer smell at the front entrance but that didn't affect our visit to a gorgeous place. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank ragout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

The hotel is simply marvelous.

The attention from the front desk staff was slightly overwhelming - I think I don't need THAT much attention :)

The room was beautiful, with a spectacular bathroom.

Room service was well worth the money and was a celebration of taste.

A definite repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at the hotel on the 12 of oct, 2008.our stay was very short, arriving at 8 pm and leaving 2 pm next day but still i found the hotel very pleasant as in staff the rooms were very clean and huge . the garden where we had our drinks was amazing and you feel somehow in your own home .. i loved it and have nothing negative to say .. unlike our stay in paris at the marriot, champs elysees.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Nice room and very comfy beds. The thing lacking with the hotel was experience at the front desk. We asked for a restaurant recommendation for traditional Belgian cuisine and the only one given was for a very modern looking brasserie (we passed it later that night and it was dead), when we said no to that there was no other recommendation forthcoming so it was back to the guidebooks. They should have a list and more knowledge - basic things for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £132 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing