We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastically located gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2009

I booked into this hotel as a lastminute trip with my young son as my husband was working in Brussels. We had a fantastic time - all of the staff were very kind and attentive for the duration of our stay. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring Bruges, the bar area and gardens of the hotel are spectacular and a lovely surprise. The pool area is a haven of relaxation. We have very happy memories of our time and we are looking forward to returning to Bruges just to experience the hotel again. For us it is up there with the Mandarin Oriental Tokyo - our best hotel experience to date.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,878 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2009

This is a good hotel, but not amazing. The pool is incredibly small and the spa treatments are expensive for what they are (had a facial, save your money!). But the bar, the restaurant and the rooms are pretty nice and the location is central. The staff are attentive and Bruges is lovely for a couple of days. I'd stay here again if not too expensive and recommend it but it's not as good as it wants to be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Went with my boyfriend, it was a Valentines gift and was really looking forward to seeing Bruges but even more excited about the hotel as had heard that Kempinski hotels have a great reputation.

We had booked a deluxe room in the old part of the hotel, when we got into our room you could barely walk round the bed, okay the furnishings were nice but the room looked overstuffed and claustrophic, we were quite late and wanted to go and get something to eat that evening. I complained in the morning to say we didn't think we had the right room, we were looking under the tarriff and realised the "superior" rooms (which was what they had given us) were really just the basic ones although they gave us a junior suite it didn't really have any character and it was still in the new part of the hotel, it was just a bigger room with a settee and table in there, again not wowed.

Also I feel sure that the receptionist said to us "your breakfast isn't included but if you want to take it it is €18". Well I eat like a bird so to find out it was €28 each both days did sting a bit.

The pool was empty, clinical and freezing.

The ladies on reception were very helpful with recommendations.

Overall bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DontLikeDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We got a good deal on this hotel as they were still in their 'soft opening'.

The service was flawless. The rooms were a good size and well decorated.

The spa in the basement was our favourite. Quiet enough for our forgotten swimming costumes to not cause us a problem in the pool...

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

My girlfriend and I visited here for a short two day break, for our first trip to Brugge. The hotel was what we expected of a 5 star, but there were disappointments! As the trip was short - two nights- we had to make the best of our stay. Therefore, the morning following our arrival - we arrived tired at 8 pm the previous night - it dawned on us that perhaps we had been booked into an inferior room, and not the 'deluxe' we expected. We complained after breakfast, and sure enough, they said indeed, we were in a wrong room and that they would put us into a suite instead. Immediately to make amends ! This, we would add wasn't a deluxe suite, still the inferior style, albeit they called it Superior. ( There was nothing lower than a Superior, a bit pretentious we thought.)
The swimming pool was rather small - 6 strokes and you hit the other end! - and the breakfast was a complete rip off at 28 euros each, and nothing out the ordinary.
Thats the complaints. On the whole, it was adequate and we were treated reasonably well. We would still have liked to have had the room style we booked, but we still have the nagging feeling we were double booked, and if we hadn't raised our concerns, we just wonder whether they would have ever told us! Not sure we really trusted them especially having read one particular review from a very disgruntled gentleman.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We just came back from Bruges having stopped at the Duke's Palace - we only booked 3 nights and were actually sad to leave such was our level of comfort and enjoyment.

As in an earlier review we also had a call a week before to tell us our booking had to be rearranged and that this was linked to renovation works not being completed in time. We were told by our travel agent that the hotel had a large group in on one of our three nights and could not rearrange them in light of certain rooms still being incomplete. We were hugely dissapointed but were offered some gestures including, amongst other things, taxi transfers and museum tickets and a good alternative hotel.

I did speak with the reservations manager who was very professional and took time to explain the reasons why this had happened - in a nutshell, the hotel had closed for a month to conduct renovations and certain parts had not been completed on schedule. I felt she gave me a true picture of what had happened and suitably addressed my dissapointment with a further offer of upgrade on a return visit.

As luck would have it two days later we were advised of a cancellation which enabled us to stop at the hotel after all - what a happy ending as it was fabulous!

We were upgraded, in light of the messing around, to a deluxe suite (we had the honey moon suite which was heritage listed).

Upon arrival the hotel was stunning, our bags were taken from us and delivered to our room and we were sat down with Maartin, a very calm and professional gentleman who took us thoroughly through our check in and hotel orientation. He booked us seats in a restaurant and provided guide books, pointing out places of interest before walking us through to our room. On route he showed us the mixture of old and new and the stunning decor and art in the building including a look at the Chapel and historic lift and tower.

Our room was outstanding. Huge beams and tasteful modern furnishings and a great bathroom and flat screen TV with views over the garden. Whilst ours was a suite we did sneak a peek at other rooms which were equally well furnished although considerably smaller.

Breakfast was fantastic and well worth getting within your rate if possible. It was almost tranquil with calming music playing and a huge choice of continental items and hot breakfast (almost full english) available - ask for something and you will probably get it!

The staff were terrific - finally somewhere where customers come first and you are treated really well! I would challenge anyone to find a rude or impatient member of staff here both in the bar/restaurant and the front desk.

The bar has a 'jazz bar' feel but is contemporary in style. It is a little expensive but sit at the bar on a quieter day and you will no doubt end up chatting with the staff and sampling the beers and cocktails.

The hotel is situated very centrally but on an off-street which gives it prime privacy and quiet. Bruges is very attractive with hundreds of cafes and bistro style food outlets. Eating out and drinking is expensive, especially close to the square and the service was incredibly slow. We could only put this down to not enough staff but maybe we are used to cheaper, lower quality food served quickly? Either way it would have helped us to have planned for this rather than become impatient - my tip is to make sure you get a quick drinks order in as you are seated.

Get a 15 EURO museum pass for 3 days - this is cheaper and allows access to the 5 main museums. Make sure you go to Tyne Cot Cemetary - very moving and visit Ypres and the Menin Gate.

If you have not been before then I recommend hiring a car before you travel to collect at the airport. It took 2 trains to get to Bruges at a return cost of between 40-50 euros and about 1.5 hours. You then need a return taxi when at the station which is a further 20 Euros. When we got to the hotel we ended up hiring a car anyway, parking at the hotel and using the excellent sat-nav to navigate and we drove back to the airport in about an hour - much more comfortable and the bonus of being able to get out and about.

Sorry its a long one - just thoroughly enjoyed the trip and will be want to tell people about it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorny1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Perfect room, perfect service, excellent and fine french food for new year (I think a soon 1 "macaron" Michelin).
Very good spa and his swiming pool.
The service is perfect staff is very discreet, helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kinodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £129 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing