We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed at the Kempinski Hotel for a weekend break to Bruges and had a fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful and has been decorated with lots of taste and attention to detail. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The hotel is less than 5 min away from the main market place - but set off any main streets so it feels private.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank anniemac999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,892 - 1,898 of 2,985 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

spent three days there at the beginning of this month in the still cold and rainy April weather enjoying the lovely room and benefitting from the helpful advice of their excellent staff about local restaurants and things to do. Well worth the money,a treat!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efarkasTeaneck_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Value for money not!
No free wifi either!
Breakfast costs a small fortune!€18+

well located however near impossible to drive to due to several mo entries and numerous rd wrks please study the map and work your way there do not expect your satnav to get you there!

Well located it is and you can walk anywhere around town although finding somewhere for breakfast without breaking the bank!

Fantastic town will have to go b&b next time around!

Loved tge town and a great many restaurants to eat at!

Dan

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I stayed with my wife in this great hotel over the Easter weekend. On arrival we received an upgrade to the beautiful Munthof Suite, which was a nice gesture. The suite was very spacious with a huge bathroom, seperate toilet and a cosy bedroom overlooking the courtyard. The only thing missing was a seperate seating/living area but since we were out for most of the time this was not a big problem. The bed was very, very comfortable and I really like being able to choose your own pillow preference.
The bathroom was fine, I only don't understand why the tub was so small (impossible to have a romantic bath for two) considering the sheer size of the room itself. Also, why not install a proper rainshower if you have the room for it?

There were some more details that weren't up to the standard that you would expect from a five star hotel: some of the towels had obvious stains on them and had to be exchanged, the TV had problems (turning on and changing back to the hotel default channel by itself), the espressomachine did not work properly (and used coffeepads were not replaced), the tap in the toilet was not working when we arrived and there was no way to turn off the heating in the hallway (resulting in the airco fighting against the heating) Most things were resolved quickly and quietly by the hotel staff but still, for upwards from 400 euro a night (the Kempinski is by some distance the most expensive hotel in Bruges) I would expect a little more attention to detail.

Don't bother to pay 30 euro per person for the hotel breakfast, the quality is average at best (the scrambled eggs looked more like porridge) and there are loads of nice coffeeshops wihtin a short walk of the hotel. The continental breakfast we ordered on the second day was better value. The spa-area is small but modern en well-maintained, has all the usual facilities and a good selection of treatments.

All in all, a good hotel on a superb location, well staffed and maintained but just not effortless enough to warrant the highest rating.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We were greeted by the extremely friendly and very efficient reception. Maarten and his 2 colleagues continued to be of very high value to us during our 5 days in Bruges.
The suite was lovely, the cleanliness impecable. It was however surprising that it took minutes for the hot water to arrive in the shower... The bar and reading room are very well laid out. Afternoon tea and drinks are served with great friendliness by William and Co., highly recommended as you play one of the hotels chess or backgammon games.
the breakfast waitresses are ever so sweet. Oddly enough this was particularly the case during everydays, as weekend came up and more staff came on, the service level for some reason dropped a bit. This can not take away the overall impression of a very delicious and well assorted breakfast, which was a great start of the day to us. Overall, this hotel is certainly very good, but has yet some improvements to make before being a "true" 5/star.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

My room had a view of the three towers which was just lovely. The reception we got upon checking in was just so warm and helpful (his name was Marteen) - he gave us a map of Brugges, was very helpful with our queries and was nicely apologetic about the street being fixed. The bed was most comfortable and i love the touch of allowing one to choose what pillow one wants to use. Definitely would stay in the same hotel when I return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmand29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I have been to a lot of hotels in my life. But this one tops all.
The friendliness of the staff, the huge breakfast, the very very very comfortable beds.. it all gave me a serious WOW feeling.
We received an upgrade from a superior suite to a deluxe suite.
The only downside in my opinion is the small pool and hammam / sauna area.
Oh and internet should be free, but well that counts for every hotel in my opinion.
If you want a romantic weekend in a charming location, this is what you need !
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikCleppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £125 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing