We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush hotel at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Plush hotel at a price”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The hotel, which has a great location about 3 blocks from the Markt, is upscale and plush. It appears to be new so the room and public areas were in very good shape. We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious and had a nice view of the garden. Breakfast was included in the rate and it was varied and generous. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

This may be nits for but $500 a night.... There were two lounge chairs in the room but no light near them so after dark, you either had to move the chair to a light or move a light to the chair. Two of the electric outlets were not working so moving the light to the chair didn't work. Like some other reviewers noted, the timing on cleaning the room was off. We returned from a day out at about 4 pm and the room was just being cleaned so we had to amuse ourselves on the grounds until that was finished. We were offered turn down service both nights that we were there at 6 pm which was right in the middle of dressing for dinner so, needless to say, we took the piece of chocolate at the door and skipped the rest.

All in all a nice hotel with very good location but you have to keep the cost in mind.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,816
    548
    176
    55
    35
See reviews for
358
1,754
35
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The Dukes' Palace is perfectly located in the city centre. The rooms are very nice and cosy and it could be the perfect place. Unfortunately the hotel had a wedding or so at the 25.09. in the house and the noise of the terrible loud (techno) music was even in the 5th floor annoying and it was not possible to sleep before 03:30 in the morning.

The food in the restaurant (2x dinner) is very nice and high standard, the breakfast is fantastic and gives you the perfect start in the morning (so you got sleep).

We would stay in the Kempinsky again – but I after one sleepless night a smaller hotel would be maybe the better choice. I understand that the hotel arranges weddings and so, but regardless of other (paying) guests is not the standard of a 5 star hotel. It is perfect for people who live above a nightclub; when the sleeping quality is poor, the hotel is poor also. – Sorry!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERUSALEM
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

The Kempinski hotel is located five minutes from the center of town but still maintains a peaceful atmosphere. The hotel is well appointed and our Deluxe room was spacious and the bathroom was fitted to the highest standard. The hotel fails in only one or two areas:

One of the walls in our room had been badly marked / scratched by someone scraping their suitcase whilst moving it and the repair consisted of a somewhat botched touch up paint job .. which if it had been done properly should have involved painting the whole wall.

The two full days we were there the room was not made up by the time we returned in the afternoon even though we put the "please make up the room" door hanger outside when we left at 8:30 in the morning. So on both occasions we had to ask for the room to be made up. The morning we left the hotel the house maid knocked at our door at 8:00 asking to make up the room even though we had a "do not disturb sign" outside on the door handle and we were leaving!!

The phone in the room did not work, the TV switches channels every two minutes so it is virtually impossible to watch a program without continually re-programming the TV

The hairdryer has only cold air so if you don't want to catch pneumonia after a shower and before you go outside I suggest you bring your own.

There was no kettle, iron or ironing board in the room which I feel would be nice to have the option.

Apart from these small complaints the staff were most helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MINDLE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Beautiful hotel with history. In a central location, but away from noise. Lobby area has a nice sitting/living room with chess, newspaper, drinks to order. Separate bar room with sitting inside and outside. We were told they had classic concerts outside every now and then.

Our room was very spacious with sitting area and a desk. The bathroom was large and modern. Both were nicely decorated. We were very happy with our room.

The front desk and bellmen were very friendly.

The only disappointment was house keeping. We were out for hours. When we came back for a quick rest, our room was not cleaned yet. However, when we came back at night, the room was cleaned. But, the cleaning lady left her cleaning stuff in our bathroom. She also neglected to leave shampoo and conditioner. When i called to ask for them the next day, housekeeping sent up a handful right away.

The hotel has internet. However, not free.

If we come to Brugge, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charkleroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed for five nights and asked for a room change because our "superior" room had uncomfortable 2 twin mattresses instead of a single king/queen sized mattress. The receptionist neglected to inform us that the new room that was assigned was "standard" category.

No ironing board in the room and the clean towels had an unpleasant odor.

The hotel needs to deliver a better standard of service

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed the last weekend in August, and were disappointed, particularly as this is not a cheap hotel to stay at.
1. The room was billed as having a King Bed, but was made up of 2 beds that were joined together and clearly had a dip between the beds. This was not ideal as we had a 2 year old who ended up in the dip. Not what i'd expect at a hotel of this calibre.
2. Then, on the first night, we had a knock at the door at around 9.30 pm - which turned out to be housekeeping offering to turn down the beds and offered us water, chocolates etc. We thought it was quite late for this kind of service, especially as we had a young child with us. The second night. nobody arrived to turn down our beds or give us water and at around 9.30 we called Housekeeping for this to be done (we really wanted some water!) Again, not at all reasonable for a "quality hotel" charging through the teeth.
3. I tried to call Room Service on both nights we stayed, but there was no answer. i had to call down to the Front Desk and ask to be put through on both nights.
4. I went for a swim one morning at 8.30, but there was nobody manning the Health Suite/spa. Although not a big Suite, it would have been nice to have someone directing you to the correct changing rooms etc.
5. No free wifi in the bedrooms, and not a great range of tv channels in English.
All in all, whilst the hotel was very central, I would not recommend this unless they got an exceptionally good deal because of the mediocre service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Let me start by saying the hotel was very nice, bordering on posh, starting with the first impression: an entry down a side street, into a courtyard and then into the 'lobby,' which is more like a large alcove than the impersonal registration desks at most hotels. Our room - including the bathroom - was spacious and well decorated.

If you are in Bruges and want a luxurious stay, this is the hotel - just be prepared to pay for it. For example, they charge 20 euros for internet service and even charge for use of the computers in the business center - at a time when almost all hotels offer both for free. Breakfast was 30 euros per person. However, the hotel is centrally located and within a five minute walk you can find a large number of cafes where, for 40 euros four of us had our fill of coffee, croissants and scrambled eggs.

Overall, the experience was positive and we'd recommend a stay there, particularly if you can find a good price on the internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing