We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but far from perfect, and a pay for EVERYTHING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but far from perfect, and a pay for EVERYTHING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Great for location, good for service. However, I chose this hotel because of the swimming pool. Imagine my disappointed when we arrived to find the spa was being renovated. "But it was on the internet" they said - firstly I booked through Eurostar, who had no knowledge. When I did go to the web site, it was there - but not on the landing page, not even on the facilities front page, but only when you went to the description of the spa did they tell you that it was out of action (two clicks is the internet equivalent of fine print!). After night 1 the bar was also closed for work. The last hurrah was on the last night, we asked for coffee in the morning. We were pleasantly woken with breakfast. Great, I thought, this to make up for the grumbles - only to find that € 50 was added to the bill! By the way, Kempinski, the days of charging €5 for 64k (yes, you read right) wireless access are long dead!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APURKISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,721
    525
    170
    55
    34
See reviews for
340
1,673
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We spent four nights at the hotel, the rooms were spacious and well appointed, the eve service a little inconsistent. The restaurant at the hotel is magnificent, the bar has all the belgium beers you will ever need and a very helpful barman, will go again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,091 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Hi
there are a few shortcomings, but its hard to come up with a longer list:

- a smallish gym
- a weak service in the restaurant - separate review!
- maybe a bit expensive for the place, but its good quality 5*

We liked the reception guys, were quite friendly, helpful, Christian specifically deserves a big clap on his shoulder.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

The Kempinski hotel is in a former Dukes palace, and everything about it is luxurious and high quality. We stayed in a standard double room, which was very spacious, but the best thing about the hotel is its fantastic location, just tucked away off one of the main shopping streets leading into the main market square. The hotel has a swimming pool and gym but we didn't make use of these facilities as were preferred to spend the time sightseeing.

We came across the Kempinski while searching for another hotel to stay in after we were disappointed with the hotel we stayed in for our first night in Bruges. They were very helpful and able to find us a room at quite a good deal which we could check into straightaway, and all the staff were first class in their service and making us feel welcome.

We would definitely come back to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

Wow what a beautiful hotel, the staff were nothing but helpful the for the whole of our staff. Our bedroom was lovely, with a huge bed and underfloor heating in the bathroom.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Sunshine12360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

We’ve been to a few places this year, and the Kempinski Hotel is one of best we’ve staid.
All you expect from a five star hotel: amazing room, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff, delightful decor.
The hotel itself is amazing, the former royal residence is impressive, the moment you enter the gate you will be blown away by this castle.
The room was massive (deluxe room), the bed was very comfy and overall nicely decorated with a mix of old and design furniture.
The hotel is also very central and only 2mins walk from the busy touristy streets

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinebuchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

This place is amazing!

We booked a suite, but on check in we were told that we had been upgraded to the Groenhuys Suite. It is a palace suite that looks like a little house out in the garden. We are unsure how we were upgraded but we asked no questions.

The service was fantastic. We even had someone knock on the door and move wine glasses up beside our bed as they had left them in the wrong place. Most places wouldn't even bother! The suite was beautiful. The downstairs living area was very spacious and the upstairs bedroom and bathroom, accessed by a spiral staircase were also very comfortable. We only stayed one night but would definitely love to return. We didn't have breakfast as we had a lay in and wanted to have a nice long lunch before we headed home. There are many good reports about the breakfast but it is quite pricey at €30 per head, if not included in the room price.

The hotel is in the perfect location and an ideal place to stay if you are exploying the city over a short weekend. We fell in love with the city and would definitely recommend a visit.

Also, we would highly recommend the restaurant Cafedraal. It is a really atmospheric restaurant and the food is fantastic. Make sure you book if you want a table on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.0 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges

Property: Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Address: Prinsenhof 8, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Dukes' Palace)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#3 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dukes' Palace, former residence of the Burgundian aristocracy, is the perfect location in the heart of UNESCO World Heritage city of Bruges. The 110 rooms, of which 18 suites and 5 family rooms, are all unique and combine contemporary comfort with authentic elegance of the 15th century. The 3000 m² garden, the terrace, the bar and beautiful lounges are the ideal place to enjoy. You can relax in The Spa with sauna, hammam and gym. The hotel also features a spacious garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Dukes Palace
Kempinski Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing