We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool, well preserved history, worth finding!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Wall Museum

Atlantic Wall Museum
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Connecticut
Level Contributor
400 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very cool, well preserved history, worth finding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Like many other reviews, I'll tell you this is worth finding (it's not well marked) and an informative 2-3 hours or so. I took the tram from Knokke, having taken the train from Bruges for a day exploring the coast. A very enjoyable day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    189
    22
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best museum I have been to for years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and the kids, aged 16 and 19, totally loved this museum. It was probably the best 3 hours I have spend for a long time and the weather was perfect but you need comfy shoes as there is a lot of walking and going up and down steps.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swizzlecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very interesting site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very well preserved ww1 and ww2 fortifications on extensive area - if you look at everything attentively and listen to all audioguide material and read all information available it takes more than 3 hours to cover everything. Tip: wear confortable shoes, appropriate for some steep stairs, and bring water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank adaelada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent, much more insightful than Normandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Such a sight to see! Anti-aerial batteries, bunkers, so many tunnels... And so well preserved, thanks to them buing built on private property. You really get a feeling of what this Atlantic Wall was meant to be and do, of how the Nazis were contemplating defending the beaches. You also get the story of how useless it was.. You don't get to see this in Normandy... Went there with friends visiting me and what a great and inspired way to spend some hours, an interesting outdoor activity.

The Museum is right beside the beach, it is lovely. From the road below you can see the cannons coming out of the bunkers, directed towards Oostend harbour. Unbelievable that it should not be better known..

We drove there, it is not that well signposted. The domain is signposted, rather than the Atlantic Wall as such and we almost missed the entrance. We had no trouble in parking, as there are spaces available and it is not a mass tourist attraction. We did not have time to do both tours - WWI battery and WWII battery, we decided to stick to the latter and saw it at a leisurely pace, listening to the audioguide included in the entry fee, reading the information, watching the displays (recreation of how life was inside the bunkers), walking around. It gave a feeling of a quite an easy life for those in charge of this particular bit of the Atlantic Wall. But what a massive effort to build it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great in all weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great audio tour, bet there earlier than later, its not wheelchair accessible, but if you have a interest in ww2 or history its a great time, take photos listen to everything and i am sure you will tell your friends as if you where there back in the 1940's

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rikrikrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlantic Wall Museum also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Atlantic Wall Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing