We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bi-polar place.... :-)”
Review of Glenmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenmore Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's in a way like many things in Belgium. They are moving because contradictory in many things. There you have a hotel in which my bath room was splendid (like on a cruise-boat, with all details), in the restaurant you got design chairs... but on the walls you could find some old kitschy design mixed with it. As for the restaurant, breakfast is very basic and the dinner is served at a fix hour (i think it is 7pm). So, who would like on holidays to be told when he has to eat? Same thing with the service. When you complain that your wifi doesn't work, the answer will be "i don't understand anything of this" and that will be it , then. They provide good and cheap massage on the other side, and as I said, the rooms are comfortable. For those who really want an appropriate "sea" atmosphere, the place isn't the best, even if very close to the beach, to the port and to the center. The price-quality relation is quite ok, but I would recommend this place only for very short terms, 2 or 3 nights maximum. For longer, it won't make it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClocloLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is well located just 50 yards off the seafront promenade. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Excellent breakfast both in terms of range and quality. Very pleasant breakfast restaurant area although probably not the best atmosphere for evening dining - so many good restaurants nearby to try!
Bedrooms are spacious and well appointed. Car parking (at 20 Euros a night is expensive). Bar area welcoming and no smell of smoke on this occasion. Will be returning in July and September to the Glenmore - looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A well presented and well located hotel - 50 yards from the coast and a short walk into the town centre. Secure parking available at a daily cost (expensive). Friendly staff particularly on reception and in the bar. Small bar area although did reek a little of smoke.

Excellent breakfast choice with attentive serving staff. Bedrooms spacious and well appointed.

Will definitely use again - have stayed here on four occasions already. Good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Sometimes some noise from the street although not oppressive. Suggest rooms at the back rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
yorkshire, england
110
Reviewed 10 December 2003

Sorry but the Glenmore Hotel gets a big thumbs down, the hotel is need of modernisation, the food was poor and cold, the breakfast buffet was not replentished quick enough, not much room in the dining area, some of the rooms our party had were in a poor state of repair ie plywood where a mirror should be, loose wires either side of the bed, televisions not functioning correctly, the hotel staff walked around looking as though they had lost a close relative (i never saw a smile) there are plenty of other better hotels in the immediate area such as the atlantic, princess etc but if you do not believe me try it out and waste your money.....or you could believe me and the 30 people that was with our party!!!!!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Merseyside England
12
Reviewed 17 February 2003

This is a great hotel very warm and friendly. The staff are super. We have stayed each time we have travelled to Ostende and only stayed some were else due to hotel being closed out of season. Mr Simpson

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank annev608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Misschri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#7 of 46 in Ostend
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#8 of 46 in Ostend
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#33 of 46 in Ostend
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#26 of 46 in Ostend
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 46 in Ostend
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#4 of 46 in Ostend
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Hotel

Address: Hofstraat 25, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range: £69 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Glenmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing