We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ostend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ostend Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great location near the beach. shops .bars. good for sightseeing /Brug.e Brussels. very clean hotel .. breakfast good.. cater for continentals at Dinner. im a fussy English eater. but found something to eat. Traveled with Alfa travel. and had a great time. All the staff are very helpful.. and the bar at night is cosy. try the hot chocolate. Would recommend the Ostend Hotel .And hope to stay again soon.

Room Tip: lower floors. 220 nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Catherine,
Many thankf for your recommended review to wrote on tripadvisor.
Our goal every day is to satisfy people with a well- earned holiday!
We feel very happy that this goal has been accomplished for you!
Hope to welcome you a next time.
With kind regards
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    156
    73
    20
    7
See reviews for
106
161
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a good tourist class (3 star ) hotel with friendly and helpful staff from Bar Manager to reception and even the chamber maids. It's always clean and the buffet style dinners could not be faulted. Breakfast was of course continental style and again buffet style or self service. Location is near both town centre and close to the beach and seafront. The room we had on the first floor although small was adequate for our needs but being on the street side a little noisy on Friday and Saturday night. Overall an enjoyable stay and I would happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side if stopping over a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Our staff is delighted with your review....many thanks for your stay in our hotel and also to take some time to write this review.
We hope to welcome you on a next occasion.
With kind regards
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location near the beachfront, and next to a great bar called the cosy corner. Basic rooms are VERY small, and you have no room to get to the other side of the bed unless you climb over it. The beds are also VERY hard, so we used a half inflated air bed with a sheet on top to have a comfortable sleep. we will stay again though, as the check in staff are very helpfull , and its prices are excellent considering its in a prime position in Ostend. Going in December, would advise everyone to upgrade and get a larger room if you can as its well worth it.The breakfast room is well laid out, clean, with good food on offer, but dont expect staff to help you if youre disabled like us, as theres no one in sight except the cleaner uppers. the chambermaids on our floor were lovely and hard working, so dont forget them when you leave your messy room fr them to clean, lol.The hotels kids room is fantastic, and most kids will want to spend all day in there. Didnt know the no smoking rule in rooms had bn implemented here yet, as brochure says otherwise. so dont expect to be able to smoke anywhere except outside. Wish they had disabled rooms, would have made our stay easier. A good place to stay as long as youre ok with VERY hard mattresses and are not disabled.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room, as standards are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Kathryn,

Thanks for letting us know your hotel experience during your holiday in Ostend.
We're sorry not having rooms for disabled people, that's also the reason why we don't have the diasbled friendly signboard. For disabled people it's recommended to look for such hotels. But in our hotel everybody is welcome, but make sure that you can't count on the facility for disabled people. You can always look for the junior suite next time. This room is twice as big for a little extra charge of maximum €20 per night. For the rest we can understand you enjoyed your stay in our facility. That makes our team very happy...many thanks! We hope to welcome you on a next occasion in our 'junior suite' rooms.
With kind regards
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my friends 40th.
Very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and modern.
Our room was very spacious and clean and the beds were comfy too.
Breakfast was a continental breakfast which is what you expect when staying abroad.
I did have to pay €5 for 24hrs wifi access which some people would grumble at but it was one of the best hotel wifi's I have ever used.

Flanagan's Bar next door is worth a visit too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Google Translation
Geachte Niel,
Fantastisch vinden wij het, dat u ons zo'n goede beoordeling geeft!
Het doet ons ganse team een groot plezier dit van u te mogen horen. Wij doen alvast ons best om het dag na dag zo te houden! Hopend u een volgende keer terug te mogen verwelkomen.
Met vriendelijke groeten
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

-No aircondition in the rooms
-Mattresses and pillows hard as stone
-Crappy breakfast
-Small rooms
-No free wi-fi in the rooms
-Very small showers

+Nice bar
+Close to the beach
+Nice local Irishs bar on the corner (Flanagans - open until 2300)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Fetus_In_Fetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Norwegian guest, we thank you for your review, your unbelievable no respect policy for other guests and staff during the nights, the unbelievable dirty rooms you left after your stay in our hotel.
How can I tell this...this is my most horrible week of my carreer of 15 years in hotels.
After several complaitns to the organisation of your foorball tournament who did a great job and who was concerned about the way you guys handled (almost expel of the hotel and football tournament), is this your revenge...very poor again!
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have stayed here many times with our young Grandson he loves it and especially the playroom in which he spends a lot of time The staff go out of there way to be very helpful and friendly in every way. The meals breakfast and dinner are excellent something for everyone Staff from management and reception all help serve at dinner nothing is a problem for them. Our young Grandson treats the hotel as home when we go. This review was written after our stay on 7th April 2014 and we are already booked for October and New Year. I Would Like to say a very big thank you to Alex and all his Staff and see you in October. Yours Douglas and Catherine Buchanan and Brahnan

Room Tip: Rooms excellent we always have a Junior Suite. Great location near shops beach and swimming pool. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So nice of you...it's great to welcome you and your family in our hotel since years. Our staff have seen growing your grandson from baby to a nice and joyfull young guy.
We appreciate your kind words to us and hope to keep our friendship for years. That's wy we do it every day...to make people happy, and to offer them a nice holiday! Many thanks and we see each other in October.
With kind regards
Alex and his team
Ostend Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruishoutem
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Ostend Hotel is an unpretentious place. It strikes a balance between a proper hotel and a youth hostel, and is only a 3 minute walk away from the seafront.
The rooms are spacious and up to date, and the food (buffet style) is decent if unrefined. Staff are friendly.
This is by no means a great place, but the rates are very competitive. In terms of value for money, nobody should have any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart_E540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander P, General Manager at Ostend Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Many thanks for your positive review, but we try every day to offer better service than a youth hostel.
We hope to convince you on a next occasion. But thanks to take some minutes to inform us all, about your trip to Ostend. Many thanks. With kind regards.
A. Piers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#4 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#10 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostend Hotel

Property: Ostend Hotel
Address: Londenstraat 6, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ostend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW 'junior suite' 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ostend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostend Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing