We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken and bread, and that's about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koekoek

Koekoek
Ranked #9 of 373 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: +32-059-708970
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Chicken and bread, and that's about it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Don't even ask for chips!
The food is great and the restaurant is an Ooestend icon.
Think stone age KFC. Don't wear a white shirt!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank md050472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    228
    88
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great place to go eat a quick and excellent grilled chicken served with fresh bread,honest price tag, certainly a doer

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthroopos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a late night snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We dropped in to the KoeKoek feeling a little peckish after a night out in Ostend approx 1:00am and we were very pleased with what was served up in double quick time, spit roasted chicken and bread washed down with Maes Pils. Its always great fun devouring half a chicken with your bare hands and the seasoning encouraged you to eat the crispy skin too, not bad value at 8 euros a head with a large beer either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffEJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very poor service !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was born & raised in Oostende, so I know the Koekoek and just love eating chicken.

It was on a nice early spring day when we decided to have lunch at the Koekoek. We found an outside seating and were served within acceptable time (but not any better than that)
The people at the table next to us must have been extremely hungry though:
* they waited for at least 15 minutes for the plates from the previous guests to be cleared from the table
* being seated outside, their order had to be paid at the time of getting their drinks. The waiter served the drinks to two tables, collecting the money only from one table. The money staid on the table next to us for 10 minutes.
* 30 minutes after being seated, they still were not served their chicken.

And they were not alone: half-way through our meal, we ordered some more drinks. We had just left our table when the drinks arrived... it took the waiter 20 minutes to bring us 2 cokes...

I seriously hope they find some better (or more) waiters, because service is a disaster waiting to happen !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DidierF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The "Best Chicken In Town"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Although we are from England this is the 4th time in as many months that we have visited this Restaurant.
I ordered the flambeed chicken again but this time I had it with Cognac, a great result. The chicken was as usual out of this world.
This restaurant is a "must try" if you are ever in Ostend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koekoek also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Koekoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing