We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Empire
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Acces(Ostend)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Alpha Hotel(Ostend)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Europe(Ostend)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Louisa(Ostend)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Bero(Ostend)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
4
28
27
28
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
28
27
28
43
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed 3 nights with a party of 20. Our room had a puddle (not a damp patch) on the floor, the miniscule wardrobe was about a metre high and about 10 inches deep, unusable for our clothes as it stunk of mildew. Manager said no other room was available. Next door had similar problems and asked for a refund to find another place but was refused. Had one evening meal in the hotel, my friend ordered half a chicken with chips, the chicken was full of blood, it was returned to the kitchen and came back to the table exactly the same! I and my friends have been visiting Ostend each year for about 20 years and we have never had an experience like this. My expensive leather handbag was marked with a white line around it from contact with the floor, the Manageress took a dishcloth and wiped it, laughing all the while. A most horrendous experience. DO NOT BOOK INTO THIS HOTEL. (J .Davies, Newport, UK).

Room Tip: We have stayed at many hotels in Ostend, our favourite, the Hotel Admiral has closed down but we have stayed at and can recommend The New Astor, The Ostend, Burlingtons. Cannot recommend any rooms at the Empire.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We'd read the reviews and thought surely it can't be that bad... Well it can and was!
We thought well at least if its clean, but it wasn't rooms stank of smoke and had sticky stains on the floor. The shower leaked and was just a tap from the ceiling, bizarre!
Ok so it wasn't clean but we were hoping maybe the service would make up for it. Tina the manager was awful!!! So rude and actually shouted at us on many occasions.
The food was simply indelible fish fingers in the first night and raw meat (couldn't even work out what meat on the second night). Not sure what they put in the apple pie but all of us had to spit it out, so disgusting.
The location was central but ostende itself wasn't great. Avoid going out at night unless you want to have your purse stolen and get beaten up!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have recently returned from an organised coach trip and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Having read comments on here before we went,we went with an open mind. we asked for a twin room and got a double room with two single beds pushed together, the floors were stained and sticky, bath towels were shredded, their were no tea or coffee facilities in the room and you could only have it at breakfast. the shower only gave water like you are running a tap so very difficult to have a shower and it also over flowed. the good points are there are some nice places to eat nearby and the beach is only a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I had taken the liberty of emailing the hotel prior to stopping over at the hotel. As a two star we were ready for anything especially after reading other comments on this site. Must say on arrival the group of 36 people were dealt with in a speedy fashion in room allotment and keys. Then to the evening meal, not the hotels fault that the group attending were three hours late, so taking that into consideration, the soup was not recognisable and the fish and chips were, erm, the chips were hot, so much so the chips were spending all the time on the plate heating the cold fish, though lovely fillet, cold. So to bed, a room definatly for sleeping in only, window filthy dirty on the outside, however new paving is being laid outside. Dont bother with the shower room, definatly in need of TLC, shower tree past it, shower past it, and shaving mirror missing. Second nights meal better, hotter this time, Tomato soup, very thin, unrecognisible meat, tasty and identified later as port, tasty but not sure what of. Beer good, tokens used from the hotel, only paid extra for two rounds over three days. Smoking is a problem in the attached area, joined by thin partition.

Room Tip: Only accept room 24 if they have decorated and updated from June 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiona57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have recently returned from an organised coach trip and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Having read comments on here before we went,we went with an open mind, but went armed with disinfectant, cloths etc...on arrival, our worse nightmares were realised. The hotel was dark and smelt of cigarette smoke. Especially as the bar tender stood under the NO SMOKING sign with a cigarette hanging out of his mouth and smoke bellowing over the area, including the slices of lemon and oranges-made sure that didnt have a slice in my drink.....the staff were unpleasant and one of the staff was very scruffy/dirty looking with greasy hair and he stank of stale smoke.The bar was loud and cramped and the food served was stone cold. We dared to mention this and was greeted with hostility from the staff serving in the cramped restaurant area.The room stank of drains and the shower was dirty. Even though we knew it was only 2*, it costs nothing to be pleasant.The vegetarian option provided was croquette potatoes and peas!!!!! A family member rang to speak to us in an emergency but the hotel refused to put them through.All in all-not a pleasant experience and we will be contacting the coach company using this hotel, as we feel they need to know that it is an unacceptable option.

Room Tip: Choose A Different Hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyflower1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews