We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Empire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Empire
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was basic but clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and even tried to teach us some basic Flemish. Breakfast was traditional continental but after a heavy nice of rich food and drink it is really all you need. The location was perfect and within walking distance of the beach and centre. The only thing I would change is that there was no tea and coffee facilities in the room with this I would have given the hotel 5/5

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    28
    26
    28
    41
See reviews for
25
47
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Disappointed. We were charged more money for a saturday night when we were staying for five nights. The size of the room was far to small. we had to report that the heating was on in the room and every day someone was sent to fix this, but it never went off and this made the room far too hot. we were lucky it was on the fifth floor and we could leave the window wide open. we got stuck in the lift and had been pressing the alarm button and tried to use the lift phone but no one answered. This lift was very small and only big enough for 2/3 people which made this a long wait when being used by cleaners. cleaners would also leave their equipment and dirty laundery in the lifts. we did manage to get it going by pressing 0 and complaining to the person on duty who didnt know this had happened.When in the bar if it was raining and people were in the deignated smoking area the sliding door into the bar was left open and the smoke came back into the bar making it very uncomfortable not to mention the few people who came in to the bar with light cigaretts in their hand . while we were in having breakfast there was a man with a dog who was allowed to be fed at the table with its paws on the table and off a fork .we stayed at this hotel two years ago and really enjoyed our stay so thought we would use it again after reports said it had been refurbished. wery disappointed and wont be back.

Room Tip: dont stay. bin men at 3.30 am workmen started on building site across the road at 7.00am which we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippynicola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ostend hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The guy from the reception was very friendly he made my day , I guess without him I got a depression just came from Malaga and was very tired so I did not care much just wanted to sleep bud the next morning I was fast to check out , small room very old , could be cleaner ! and quiet hot . Not a room with a view ! emergency steps next to the window even the 62,50 € I paid was to much for this room ??????

Room Tip: not room 31 ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Have stayed at this hotel three times now, it's basic but clean, 24 hour bar, very well located for beach, shops, bars and restaurants. Plenty of hot water, no tea facilities in rooms, some rooms are better than others. Hotel has two sides and the rooms are better in the newer part of the hotel. Breakfast is a very basic continental, toast, hot croissants, pain au chocolate, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, tea, coffee and juice. Hotel food is average, better places to eat nearby. Bar has two hour happy hour from 5pm on a Friday, lager is cheap, 1 euro small lager happy hour, 2 euros otherwise. Spirits are expensive. If you just want somewhere to sleep while in Oostende for a weekend then this is suitable but if you want to stay longer, have a romantic weekend or take family then I would book elsewhere

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dibspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was the second part of our honeymoon and we were originally down as booked for the Royal Astor which we have stayed at before and liked. We went through 5 Star travel a coach company specialising in mini breaks abroad, but were not told of the change of hotel until the last minute - which I thought was a bit naughty. Room was really clean and under floor heating. These were the only good things about the hotel. Really noisy and 24 hour drinking so if you want any sleep - forget it!!!! Food was crap, cold breakfast no hot food for brekky unless you count the toast! Five Star travel you are a decent company - please don't book this hotel again for your customers - stick with the Royal Astor. No one who stayed here on our trip liked it as you know there were complaints and you will lose customers if you keep on using this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 309Nickita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

reception is in dark colours, not very welcoming.
first question asked : what s your name, second question askes how are you going to pay. not very welcoming.
girl at reception in the evening was not friendly.
rooms basic and clean. windows extremely dirty.
breakfast : fair, a lot of different sorts of bread is a plus. but not that much to put on the bread.breakfast room was not very welcoming.
at 80 euro a night for a 'superior' room , i would say NO NO NO

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is not for the faint hearted it is so poor I am amazed that the local authority have licenced it.Take the lift from reception room for one person with one case only it took me to between second and third floors and nobody could hear the alarm.The room was filthy and the toilet was unusable however the bed linen was clean but there was three beds. The staircase was filthy with no banisters and as the lift is frightening your options are non existent.The bar was seedy dirty and expensive although the bar an was fairly pleasant the bar is open 24 hours a day.
This hotel is well below the standard expected by most British visitors be warned this place is dreadful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#4 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
New-Astoria Hotel
New-Astoria Hotel
#23 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#14 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel die Prince
Hotel die Prince
#8 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acces
Hotel Acces
#10 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empire

Property: Hotel Empire
Address: Van Iseghemlaan 31, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Empire 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Empire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empire Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing