We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic”
Review of Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Europe
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“basic”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location is very good, close to the beach.
The room is basic, outdated and the TV is one of the smallest I have ever seen in 4 star hotels.
Breakfast, basic and not really inviting...;
Another thing, do not rely on their vanity kit or things "they should have at reception" - I asked for a comb and they did not have any.
On the other hand, the staff was nice and we were offered an upgrade, thus we stayed in a Comfort room instead of a standard one as we had booked.
To conclude, this hotel should not be rated as a 4 star, it is a 3 star tops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    121
    106
    40
    32
See reviews for
85
182
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good location, in a lively neighbourhood and not far from the beach. The room was OK in general, though the pillows were really small and uncomfortable, the TV really far from the bed and the children's bed was not made until late in the evening when we went to the reception to complain about it. However, what ruined the experience for us was the parking. Ostend is notorious for its lack of parking places so we were specifically looking for a hotel with parking. The reservation was made by phone and email and not once was it mentioned that their parking is kind of "special". We arrived in our rather large family car, managed to get it in the parking (a lift takes the car two floors down and then you need about 200 movements to get the car into the designated parking space - not suitable for claustrophobic people or anyone driving anything larger that a VWPolo) scratching it on one side, prepaid the stay and parking (20 euro per night) for 3 nights and only took the car out once the following day to move it to another parking space, 300 m. away, paying extra of course. I believe that they ought to inform prospective clients beforehand about the kind of parking they offer.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you don't need a parking spot or you're driving a Smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ostend hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Goleniow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good room(big),super swimming pool.That's all pluses:((Air conditioning is dead.Big surprise:glass door to the bath room and toilet!!!!Imagine:U're sitting on the bed,watching tv and see(hear) everything behind the glass!!!It's awful and disqualified this place...

Room Tip: No dusting during the stay,no shampoo after check in first day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mariusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked a single night, glad we could leave. Breakfast was horrible, rooms outdated and not clean. Wouldn't recommend it at all, to anyone. Very well located, but other hotels must be better in Ostend.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel, thats THE tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fietsbel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked a double bedroom in the Europe hotel for one night on last weekend, the 22nd of March. Things didn't start great, as when we went to check in, the lady in reception took a call as I was checking in and continued to chat with her for about 15 minutes.

Then when we went to our room we found that it was a twin, so I went back down to be told that they didn't have any double bedroom and she told me on the booking form it said that if they didn't have a double room then we would have to accept a twin room. I took her on her word until I looked at our bill later on that night to find that it clearly said that I had booked a double (Not happy) and no mention about the twin room.

This is a 4 star hotel which makes me wonder how easy it is to get this rating as the rooms are small, the shower hose in the bath is only a hand held. There was a fridge in the room, but this was empty. The air conditioning was noisy and woke me during the night when it came on. Parking was €20.00 per night and there is no cheap available parking near the hotel. There is also no Tea/Coffee facilities or iron in the room.

Having said this, its not all bad. The hotel is well located, with lots of bars and restaurants a short walk away. The sea front and pier is also near-by without any views of these.

Ostend is a good location for a holiday from the Uk as its only one hour and 30 minutes from Calais and only an hour from Dunkirk. Brugge is only 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamonixAccomodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Europe hotel this August. Hotel is located in the centre of Ostende. The room was perfect, clean, and cofortable. Breakfasts were very nice. Swimming pool clean and comfortable. The personnel of the hotel is very welcoming.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear , Thank you for your review ! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again .
Best regards, Ann Van Haverbeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at the Europe Hotel with a large group from 29 June to 2 July. Overall we had a very positive experience at the hotel. Very well located in Ostend, comfortable rooms and a plentiful breakfast. Only downsides were no tea/coffee facilities in room and no iron available in hotel.

Great bar down the street called Cosy Corner where you can party late into the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy_Belfast1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann V, Owner at Hotel Europe, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear ,
Thank you for your comment and the time you have taken for this review ! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again .
Best regards, Ann Van Haverbeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Acces
Hotel Acces
#10 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#4 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#25 of 47 in Ostend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europe

Property: Hotel Europe
Address: Kapucijnenstraat 52, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing