We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth 4 stars”
Review of Andromeda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andromeda Hotel
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect but the room rate is expensive for what you get. We didn't have a minibar or refrigerator in the room, no water, no waterboiler and no airconditioning. These are all things I think you may expect when you call yourself a 4 star hotel.
The buffet breakfast was good and the rooms are clean and Ok, but nothing more than that.
So the hotel is ok, but not worth the price they ask.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntwerpChrisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We were there for romantic weekend 3 days / 2 nights.

Room was clean and refurbished in silver but small. Nice walk in shower but poor water debit. No bath. Front seaview was nice but very dangerous window (not slidng but turning and I got it on the back of my head...).

We payed 186 euros per night. Parking was extra (20/25 per night). Breakfast was extra 16 euros pp. We felt it was ok for a 8 euro breakfast so went to Vandenberghe about 50 meters away.

We took thalassa treatments for about 500 euros but altaugh the girls (Yessica is very kind) did their utmost, it is more like an eighties beauty parlour than like a thalasso center. For us used to welness and thalasso treatments way overpriced!

Total price for 2 nights was - with extras - over 1000 euros but felt more like a 300 - 400 euros value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This Welness & Spa hotel is right on the digue and beach of Ostend, next to the Casino listed building and adjacent to the nightlife and shopping center of Ostend. If you are looking for an excellently situated class hotel on the beach, this is where you have to be. Yes, the building starts to age a bit but it is not ugly and the sea views (extra to be paid for a room on the front) are stunning. As you go out of the hotel, you can litteraly jump on the sand or walk down to the main shopping streets, just 3 minutes away. Room service is excellent, friendly staff, good food. One downer was that the elevators do not go as far down as the underground garage. So with a baby and all the gear, you need to open and close 3 heavy doors and take the stairs before reaching your car... a little mistake of the architect probably... But no stress, the inhouse wellness center makes you forget everything you ever worried about!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis_tonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Excellent central beach front location. Check in and out very efficient. Rooms have free wifi, most have balconies. Breakfast ok with efficient service for the bits which aren't self service. Decent but not overwhelming selection.
Various bits weren't working (one lift out of action, pool clsoed, laundry had to be sent out and took some days).
Overall a decent choice

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed in this hotel for the second time. We booked a junior suite with direct view over the promenade and sea. Although the price seemed high at 241 € per night just for the room it was fully justified in comparison to other hotel prices nearby. The room was very well furnished with much cupboard and draw space. Large comfortable beds with the linnen changed completely every day.

The reception was very efficient and the staff friendly and helpful. Having read other reviews complaining of the reception we were rather afraid of what we might meet but if one enters the reception area with a smile and warm greeting to the staff one will find they react in a perfect manner.

We paid an extra 23 € for a closed box garage for our car so that it was kept safely and avoided expensive street parking.

We only had two minor complaints and we brought these to the attention of the staff in what we hoped was a friendly and helpful manner.

One was the price of breakfast 15 € per person for what was no more than a basic continental breakfast with extra charges for even an egg. Similar breakfasts are available in many nearby cafes at half the price.

The other point was the quality of toilet paper in the bathroom. So thin that one needed half a roll almost to get a clean wipe.

Otherwise one of the best and we will certainly visit again.

J. Rose

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ransford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2007

Just returned from this hotel had a great time. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a relaxing experience and although not a full scottish it had a good continental choice. The bedrooms were very comfortable, good shower, heating, tv, and good mattresses. The swimming pool was very relaxing and quiet , good jaccuzi although disappointed that the sauna was 13 euros extra. Very convenient for lots of bars, cafes, restaurants on the doorstep and next door to the cassino. The beach and long promenade are a great start to the day.
We would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Belgium from Scotland. Dank U.
November, 2007.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank ReneScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Been there 2nd time, did not like the room given (it was just re-painted), were given similar immediately. Service is absolutely great. Will definetely stay again if in Ostende.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank LuckyHousing_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#12 of 47 in Ostend
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#11 of 47 in Ostend
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#24 of 47 in Ostend
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#8 of 47 in Ostend
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromeda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromeda Hotel

Address: Kursaal-Westhelling 5, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ostend
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
Price Range: £97 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andromeda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andromeda is a 4-star hotel in a superb location on the seafront adjacent to the Casino Kursaal. Situated in Ostend's bustling city centre, you are surrounded by many excellent restaurants and enticing shops. You can relax in our Pyramid Pool where all our guests can enjoy the swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. Hotel Andromeda is also a perfect venue for your business meetings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Andromeda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andromeda Hotel Ostende
Andromeda Hotel Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing