We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, clean and pleasant”
Review of Hotel du Bassin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Bassin
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Emerging from the train station, we spotted the hotel just a few minutes stroll away. Booking months ahead via their website, we got a half-price deal of only 60 Euros per night for a superior room with breakfast. While we did not notice anything particularly superior about it, the room (number 23) was comfortable and very clean. We had a pleasant view out over the harbor. Despite the busy street just outside, we heard no noise at night, thanks to the double-glazing. (It might be a different story in summer with the window open). Bathroom lighting was rather dim. Pressure in the shower was barely adequate, but the water was nice and hot. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly, and service was good except that when we returned one day at 4:00 p.m. we were disappointed to find our room not yet made up. We ate two evening meals in the hotel restaurant. The first was very good, the second not.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

This hotel is in a good location for everything in Ostend and the staff are friendly. We arrived by car and instead of parking in the underground car park outside the hotel we parked in the Churchill Car Park on the opposite side of the road, it was much cheaper.
The room we had was at the top of the hotel and quite small and as the bathroom had a sloping ceiling, there was no room for a proper shower just a hand-held one attached to the taps in the bath. There was no air conditioning. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rover426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the good reviews on this site. We parked at the public car park which was indeed quite expensive (EUR 17 per day). Staff was helpful and location is excellent, closed to the harbour and all the restaurants. There was three of us, my husband, my stepson and myself and we thought the triple room we booked was tiny, although nicely decorated. The bathroom was so small that we had to walk sideways to get to the toilet or the basin. There was no window or extractor and only a flimsy sliding door, which meant no privacy at all. The bathroom was also very dated, compared to the rest of the bedroom.
The restaurant was very nice and the breakfast excellent, although the coffee was quite weak. All in all it was ok for 2 nights but no more than that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlet_bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Minutes walk from the train station sits the Strand (Du Bassin) hotel. Very friendly staff and excellent food. No AMEX accepted. Stayed five nights and the room was just right for me.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We have stayed at this hotel three times now - I think that speaks volumes!
The staff are very friendly, never too busy to help. We arrived after midnight on the first night of our stay, and the night porter lady was very welcoming.
The rooms are spacious, have great views of the harbour and are very clean and well decorated. The bedroom is the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
My partner is on a gluten free diet, and we were presented with a basket of gluten free bread each day - and given the rest to take home!
We cannot recommend this hotel enough. We have stayed at a few others in the town, and this is the best of the rest!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devondiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We had two rooms. Hotel is located in a quiet corner of town, no noise at night. Easy walk into town. Breakfast was good, nice coffee. Waiters rather serious, not friendly, but very efficient. Decor and atmosphere of restaurant was pleasant. Rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable, except ours was too warm, even when tempearature outside was cool. A large electric fan was provided, which did help. View of harbour and station, was OK, watched the boats coming in and out. No convenient parking, used public underground parking which was expensive over 3 days. On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driveman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

I have taken a coach load to this hotel for the last six years. the hotel is in a convenient location . The rooms are good and the restaurant is excellant. The hotel had been taken over by new people last year but we were made very welcome and the food was 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamDinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.5 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#9 of 47 in Ostend
231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#13 of 47 in Ostend
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#11 of 47 in Ostend
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bassin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bassin

Address: Visserskaai 1, Ostend 8400, Belgium (Formerly Strand Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range: £83 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bassin 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Bassin is ideally located close to the train station, the yachting harbour and the city centre of Ostend. The beach promenade is at walking distance. The hotel has a lovely 'grand café' which is the perfect location for a delicious drink. The restaurant offers several seasonal suggestions. The design, the customer service and the renovated rooms will make your stay at the Belgian Coast even more pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Bassin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing