We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value for money !!”
Review of St Tropez

St Tropez
Ranked #1 of 378 Restaurants in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialiteit van couscous.Ook entrecote scampi gambas, .... Een gezellige zaak waar je je welkom voelt en kwaliteit en netheid een must zijn! Alles vers in huis gemaakt!Van vrijdag tot en met dinsdag de keuken open van 17u30 tot 22u. Op woensdag en donderdag gesloten.
belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best value for money !!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

exelent expierience. verry good service , good food, large portions and exelent service. Been to alot (and I mean a lot !! ) restaurants in Oostend, this one is simply the best value for money. Will visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rudiBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    106
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huldenberg, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a couscous, this is the place to be, but there is more...”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Spending most of my weekends in Ostend, I was still unaware of this place, discovered through a browsing session on... Tripadvisor !
My wife and myself were looking for a couscous and ...yes indeed, here it was.
The owners, Eric and Valérie, from the region of Lille, France, are here since some six years and, frankly speaking, I was ashamed it took so long for me to discover this charming place, where everything is done to make you feel at home. Additionnally, it is located close to the Casino-Kursaal, in the centre of town.

If there for a first visit, don't miss the couscous, probably the best in the region.
Make your choice between chicken, merguez, lamb meat and, if you can't select, take the "couscous royal" which offers you a tasty mixture of all the previous. In the latter case however, you need to be a big eater...
Wine list is reduced, but well selected, I would recommend their red wines from the region of St Emilion which resist the power of the couscous. A glorious "crème brulée" finished this excellent meal, with everything very reasonably priced.

Next time, I'll certainly give their scampis a try and, be sure, there will be a next time!
Thanks to Saint-Tropez for a fine evening.

Worthwhile to mention is that you can already dine at approx. 6:00pm, which leaves you time for the evening and night activities Ostend has to offer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpatrickdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quito
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This has become our favourite restaurant in Ostend. Very nice international dishes, the couscous is absolutely amazing, probably the best in the region. Excellent quality/price. Cosy atmosphere. Very friendly management. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank QuitoDona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
216 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every aspect.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place became one of my favourite restaurants in Ostend. Everything was top notch, the super kind and familiar service, the place itself with chill out music and nice decor, and to top all of that, the food it's really amazing. I had scampis as a starter (Little peaces of heaven, must try this one), followed by couscous with lamb which is the house speciality, the lamb was perfectly cooked and i can say that lamb-wise, the best i had. The amount of food is more than enough, i couldn't finish the whole thing.
The prices are quite low, regarding everything else in Ostend, more than reasonable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Quartilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant food reasonably priced”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Visited this restaurant with my family after reading previous posted reviews, we all
had the couscous , which was absolutely brilliant, , am a big eater was was a bit worried about portion sizes , needn't had worried , the waiter come owner , come chief (don't know how he does it ) kept on bringing us more couscous and the stock that comes with it, have been to osten several times , there are a lot if expensive restaurants , but in my opinion this must rank up there with the best of them , try it you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank corriejem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Tropez also viewed

Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 
Ostend, West Flanders Province
Ostend, West Flanders Province
 

Been to St Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing