We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay with a (*)”
Review of Avenue Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This 'Beach hotel' is not at the beach but in a side street, it has a very original approach, lot's of whites, bleached wood, large rooms with perfect beds, I was very impressed. This is not another austere so called boutique hotel, but a feel at home place, friendly staff included.
(*) 1 remark: we arrived very late (2.30 am) and were suprised by the - please check-out - knock at the door at 10u15 am and 10.45 am. This should haven been mentioned on arrival so we could arrange for a later check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on June 2013
Hotel is very good placed for summer vacation, just 2 mins walk to the beach.
Well furnished with lean room. Very friendly and helpful staff
We like the place and enjoyed our stay, even so it was very untypical and cold feather.
Hotel provides bicycles, so could enjoy side seeing trip through good sunnymweather

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The outside of this hotel might put you off, but don't let the facade fool you. The rooms are light, spacious, airy and lovely decorated. There's a real beach house feel to the hotel. Lots of whites and blues used in the interior.
I loved the details and little luxuries such as a Senseo coffee machine in the room and Rituals toiletries.
Friendly reception and good location, just a minute walk from the beach.
Not the busiest area, not many restaurants nearby, but 15 minutes down the shoreline you'll find plenty.
There's underground parking in a public parking just in front of the hotel. They offer half price on parking, which is a pretty good deal (€12 per day).
I'll be back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank incrociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights and generally was quite happy with the experience. Décor is "interesting" - everything is either bright white or dark navy. Takes a while to get used to...Our room was big and well organised. Facing the street - probably not the best option. Looks like a small street but with enough traffic noise to be a problem. Also the street fountains are rather noisy although nice to look at. We only had breakfast once, when our favourite cafe on the promenade was closed (I do recommend in Ostend to look for a cafe breakfast). Anyway, hotel breakfast was very good. Someone called it "light" in this forum; I'd classify as "substantial". A nice touch for the Belgian seaside weather - there are full waterproof suites available to borrow. Saved us on at least one occasion.
Staff is friendly and helpful, problems are dealt with fairly quickly.
Location is very convenient for the sea/promenade as well as for town centre with shops (10 min walk to the kursaal/casino).
The only gripe is with a very commercial approach to life. Everything can be done, but for a price: coffee refills, water refills, etc. Not even toiletries are renewed in the bathroom. Wi-fi is temperamental - connection can be quite slow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKvictorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A nice brightly decorated hotel with a beach / seaside theme. Friendly attentive staff. Modern very well appointed rooms with comfortable beds. Light continental breakfast with very good coffee. Paid for underground car park in street outside. Short walk to beach promenade.

Minor issues; no English speaking news on the room TV. Lift a bit small if you are in a wheelchair.

Room Tip: rooms at rear have balconies and overlook a patio; probably quieter than front rooms on the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is a GREAT hotel run by very nice, young entrepreneurs. I travel all over the world and stayed in top shelf establishments...it's not 5 starts but it is extremely comfortable and well run. If you need hand holding maybe it's not's your choice. If you want excellent value, great location, comfort, and to support these young people you should book yourself a room and enjoy.

Room Tip: Things to note: you should make dinner reservations in Oostende, you NEED to let these guys know yo...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were made very welcome from the time we arrived until we left. Even the hotel owner came to check if we needed anything. Extremely friendly staff!
Breakfast was excellent, choices between croissants, bread, buns, eggs, and so on which was served in a cozy nook. Our room was clean, modern and very comfortable. Complementary tea, coffee and water in the room, definately a plus.
We booked an arrangement breakfast, bikes and wellness inclusive. The wellness was in a seperate house in the garden of the hotel, very quaint! The sauna, steambath and rainshowers did us a world of good! Very clean and private.
This hotel with modern nautical atmosphere gets full credits for making our weekend out fabulous, located close to Ostend centre, the ideal choice if you're planning a trip to the sea.
Top choice!

Room Tip: Comfort Plus room was fab!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#12 of 47 in Ostend
987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#2 of 47 in Ostend
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thermae Palace Hotel
Thermae Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Ostend
583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#15 of 47 in Ostend
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Beach Hotel

Address: Koninginnelaan 27, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range: £50 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avenue Beach Hotel is the newest hotel in Ostend. It is centrally located in the historic royal heart of the city on 150 meters from the beach. The hotel has 28 rooms, 4 family lofts and 2 penthouses. The rooms are completely renovated and furnished in comfortable style. The interior design of the hotel has a maritime character. Parking facilities are available in the public car park in front of the hotel. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avenue Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing