We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Louisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Louisa
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Staff ,hotel , rooms some of the best we have had in Belgium .
The owner is the real asset to this hotel he has made this hotel a very very good place to stay at a reasonable cost with good food.
The place is very clean and tidy and very comfortable the owner had done a very good job we will definitely be back .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mollylown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    79
    27
    17
    7
See reviews for
35
86
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

the location is ok, only a few meters to the promenade of Oostende. but almost 100 EUR for a double room is definitively too pricey even on weekends. we hadn t had any breakfast, so i can t comment on food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Visited here for a couple of days stay, lovely location, close to beach and centre and comfy bed BUT disappointed with a few things. A kettle with some cups to make your own tea and coffee, in my mind is a basic, I was very surprised there wasn't one. The bathroom was clean, but I was also hoping for a hairdryer. Wifi is meant to be available but we couldn't even get one bar of signal, it was out of range the whole time. We had more signal from other hotels nearby but were unfortunately password blocked. And lastly the man at reception was a complete stern-faced moaner. He hardly smiled and looked annoyed each time we had a question, didn't even ask us how our stay was when we checked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel Louisa for two nights last Wednesday and Thursday night . we was with another couple and all of us loved the stay . Great staff very clean the beds where better than mine at home . we are going back to Belgium in September and we shall be booking again . THANKYOU for a lovely stay . ps sheena was a star the lovely lady behind the bar . kind regards dave and roma

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just stayed 2 nights at Hotel Louisa and enjoyed our stay. Maybe it is slightly dated and faded but our room was clean with comfortable beds , the staff were nice and the breakfast great for 10 euros. We are planning to go back to Ostend again and will stay in the Louisa next time

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 3rd flloor at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Hotel Louisa is a nice little hotel in the centre of Oostende. It is easy to reach from the station by walk (about 10 min) and is very close to the shore (about 1 walking min). All sightseeing spots of this small, but very nice town can be easily reached by walk, too. Over the road, there is a nice pub called “’t botteltje”, where you can choose from a huge variety of Belgian beers and some small dishes (we can recommend the garlic bread!). However, even if it was not the case during our stay (March 2013), it might be possible, that the noise from the pub might be inconvenient for hotel guests.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, all of them speak Dutch and French, most speak English and even German, too. The room was not especially fancy, the walls were painted grey and you could see some of the heating pipes. However, it was absolutely clean with a comfortable bed, desk, chairs, TV (only Belgium channels, but many broadcasts in English with subs) and closets. In our room, there was also an additional foldaway bed (probably for two persons, we didn’t need it). Only a fridge was missing. The bathroom contained of sink, toilet and bathtub w/ shower. Unfortunately there was no shower curtain, but everything worked properly.
For 10€ per person and day breakfast can be ordered (15 €, if you want to have it in your own room). It contains an all-you-can-eat-buffet with bread rolls, croissants, cereals, eggs, coffee, orange juice etc. and is very good. The price seemed more than fair to us!
Hotel Louisa won’t be the right place for you, if you’re looking for a luxurious and fancy 5 star hotel. However, if you’re looking for an easy stay for a reasonable price, we can absolutely recommend Hotel Louisa. We very much enjoyed our stay! You might want to check, if you can get a special offer (e.g. via HRS) to get a better price. We paid only 25€ per night and person!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsetuk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Louisa on 3 occasions ( we have also stayed at many other small hotels in Ostend.
We have returned to this hotel as it is friendly, clean, ideal location, & nice comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Room 63 has a superb, Deep Bath & Shower with fantastic water pressure. GREAT Deep long soak aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janebriard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#5 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#18 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#3 of 47 in Ostend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#2 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#11 of 47 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisa

Property: Hotel Louisa
Address: Louisastraat 8b, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ostend
#4 Family Hotel in Ostend
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ostend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Louisa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Louisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisa Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing