We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel and awful receptionist”
Review of New-Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New-Astoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel through a National Holidays Christmas trip to Belgium Markets. Arrived about 5pm in a gale force wind!! Was allocated a single room (having paid a single supplement) right next to lift shaft, could hear the clunk of the age old lift all hours of the night, asked if I could be moved but this was not possible. Went down for our evening meal sitting, basic food, served hot, but felt we were just like cattle being fed. Free bar in the evening, served by a friendly barman, who left his job the next day, free bar was a bit of a joke as was only on for an hour and nearly 100 people served by 1 barman..... count how many drinks in 1 hour??!!! Breakfast the next day was very basic, cereal which was in open bowls left out overnight, fruit bread and toast. Disgusted by the rude, obnoxious receptionist who walked into the breakfast bar and addressed us like small children, to say that somebody had gone behind the bar the night before and stolen the barmans tips, and that we would not be having a free bar that night, when asked if they had cameras on the bar, she answered yes, surely a check of the video footage would have shown the culprit instead of addressing us all as criminals?!! Our trip was sold as a Christmas Market trip, our first stop Gent had no market, it started the weekend after, Ostende had no market, when I made a comment to a friend in reception that it was disappointing that there were no markets and that was what we came for, the obnoxious rude receptionist practically spat venom and said Ostende wont have a market as its the tourist that cause trouble so they aren't doing one this year. How rude! Our ferry was cancelled on the way home and the hotel kindly allowed us to stay on in our room an extra night and told us our meal would be at 6pm, we left Bruge (the only Christmas market) early to travel back to hotel and get ready for our meal, only to be told 15 minutes before that we were now eating at 8pm as they had booked the new party in at 6pm to eat, this is disgraceful behaviour, we had missed out on seeing Bruge in the dark all lit up and Christmasy, and were now starving hungry.

Rooms, very basic and small, warm, bed, lumpy pillow, stained dirty carpet, small wardrobe, very dimly lit.

Bathroom, small square bathtub with very powerful shower, pink mouldy curtain, hot water, door didn't close. Torn towels that I would use at home to dry my dog. Very dimly lit.

The best thing about this hotel was the lovely Brazilian cleaner on our floor, and the location to the town and beach. Wouldn't choose to stay here again and certainly would not recommend. A few manners and lessons in customer care and management wouldn't go amiss with the receptionist, manager and one of the waitresses.

Room Tip: A tent on the beach
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NessChesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for New-Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

On arriving at the hotel, we were a bit disappointed with the state of the hotel. The carpets on the third floor was a soiled in places and the decor of the hotel wasn't up to much. Our room was short on space for our clothes. There was one wardrobe which all our clothes had to fit in. there were no other drawers in the room. The staff, however were brilliant. They were friendly and obliging. Our young waiter was such a nice chap, he deserves a mention.The food was very good and tasty, and each serving were given, a second helping was always offered. The hotel was well situated for the shops and walks on the promenade. Overall, as it is a 2 star hotel, it was worth the money. We actually really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 305. - Not enough room for clothes.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidtS7735CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked a last minute trip with Thomas coaches of Rhondda to keep the wife happy and was very pleased with the trip all round.
The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful the room we were allocated was lovely and clean as they are cleaned every day with fresh towels provided.
The food was cooked well and the waitress came around the dining room every meal time asking if anybody required extra you will not get that in many hotels.
The hotel is in a central location to the seafront and all the shops this is the sixth time we have at this hotel never had any reason to complain.

Room Tip: Front upper floors I find the best
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After reading reviews, I feel I have to do a review myself. We arrived on a 4 day break in November, with Thomas of Rhondda. Our drivers were Michael and Gareth. Was checked in very quickly. I have stayed in this hotel many times in the past 10 years. I have not experienced rude staff, all the staff are friendly and helpful. Kurt the barman kept everyone entertained with his magic tricks, and entertainment was provided every night.
Continental breakfast is excellent with an option of English breakfast also. Evening meal was excellent every night, plentiful.
After staying in the hotel many times before, I have to condemn one of the comments made on this site, someone claimed they had to wait half an hour at the bar because they were in one of 5 coaches, this hotel is not big enough to hold 5 coaches so I think this is an exaggeration.
Throughout my stays my family and I have used most of the rooms, which we found very clean and tidy, comfortable beds, and clean towels every day. Some rooms are smaller than others but you get this everywhere.
The hotel is very central to the shopping areas and bars, and with the railway station and tram station 10-15 mins walk from the hotel, you can get to anywhere in Belgium.
I went again in December with Thomas of Rhondda, our drivers this time were Colin and Gareth, and have booked to go again in April. We as a family find it excellent value for money.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable priced holiday.

Room Tip: We prefer the front rooms that overlook the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked a package coach break and stayed at New Astoria Hotel in October. To be fair, for the price we paid I thought the hotel was good value for money. Small but clean rooms, average food and in a central location. The only things to bear in mind is that the food is not great, but we found lots of restaurants nearby serving lovely food at reasonable prices. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame but wasn't a huge problem. The only thing that did bother me was the salon style doors separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Some people may be fine with this but I did feel like it did not leave anything to the imagination!! Also, as the doors weren't properly oiled I was woken early every morning to a chorus of salon doors opening and closing in the rooms around and above me!! It was manageable for a weekend away but probably would have been a problem if we had stayed longer!! We went on a day trip to Bruges which wasn't too far away and can highly recommend it. I would say if you fancy a cheap and cheerful weekend then I would recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mishook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

we stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal to see the belgian christmas markets. Nice hotel we were checked in quickly and given a room on the 2nd floor. it was large and clean and overall served our purpose. the food served was nice and for a two star hotel was very good value for the money. we had an hour free bar of a night and you could have lager wine or soft drinks and there was entertainment every night we were there. The hotel was a block away from the beach and right next to the main shopping area. belgian christmas markets were none existent german markets are much better however it is still worth going to ostend as it is a lovely place and a visit to bruge is well worth it.

Room Tip: rooms on the lower floors are a lot larger
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Returned from this Hotel on the 6th December after a 5 day break with National holidays a rather tiring journey but booked in quite quickly by a rather Sullen young Lady . The Hotel is quite a Basic one but clean and tidy our room was on the top floor room 603 Small but Clean the only downside was the Shower Room it was tiny it seemed to be a disabled shower but the Grab Rail was falling off the wall very loose broken near the toilet (hence the maintainance Man ). There was a seat in the shower which did,nt leave much room for us you either got a Frozen one or a Scolding be wary of it . The food was a Set Menu but good Food they come round to see if you want Seconds , Salad bar is a bit cramped as is the Tea & Coffee machine and the Toast Area . The Staff were Brilliant making it an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Aviod the first Lift and use the one near the restaurant
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebbie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Astor Hotel
Royal Astor Hotel
#32 of 47 in Ostend
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#33 of 47 in Ostend
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#22 of 47 in Ostend
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#15 of 47 in Ostend
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New-Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New-Astoria Hotel

Address: Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Hotel Class:2 star — New-Astoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your New-Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Astoria Hotel
New Astoria Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing