We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip with national holidays”
Review of New-Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New-Astoria Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Arrived late here on the coach due to traffic,the driver had contacted the hotel because our evening meal was waiting,The staff were ignorant okay so they had to work a bit later(not that much later)the rooms are small and allthough the bed linen was fresh the bed bases were not very nice and dirty at the bottom,The bathroom smelled and had no extractor fan,the carpet was dirty and the maids never cleaned the bathroom apart from replacing the towels,When they made the beds they never straightened the the cotton sheet you slept on just straightened the top.The staff were the most miserable i have ever come across it seemed they didn.t like us English Coach trippers.Breakfast was ok evening meal was basic and all the staff wanted to do was get us in and out as fast as possible.I no we didn,t pay 5 star prices but you have to expect the place to clean and not smell.We won't be staying here again thats for sure.

Room Tip: deffinately a front room none smoking.the back rooms are no more than a red hot prison cell.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fasttourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for New-Astoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Travelled with National Holidays on a visit to the sites and battlegrounds of The Great War.
We'd stayed with Westminster Hotels before so knew what to expect, i.e. good, budget,
accommodation with excellent service.
We were lucky with our room, 406, probably the largest in the hotel which came complete with
balcony overlooking the street. The 4th floor was reached by journeying in one of the most
unusual, lifts I've been in. The end walls of the compartment, are open and move as you
travel. A real experience and one that I enjoyed.
The restaurant is bright and airy and the company of your fellow travellers, adds to the ambience. The food was basic but delicious and plentiful with second helpings always
available. Service came with a ready smile and this continued in the hotel bar with its rapid
service. Overall, a pleasant stay and a good trip.
Stayed 14/7/14 'til 18/7/14
The Burnsys

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikensheila2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If this is the NEW Astoria I would hate to have seen the old one. I know its cheep but I would not rate it 2 star, like others have said it need a complete refurb. If you go there be care full of the lift not a nice one for sure. Breakfast is fine but eat out for dinner the food is shocking. Granted the place is clean and most of the staff are pleasent enough, but its the odd one out in a street of hotels, all the rest look good from the out side but the Astoria as I said need some major work. To round up a place fit for only sleeping in and nothing else.

Room Tip: Dont matter what room they are all poor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for short stays and if you want comfortable and clean then this is the place. The hotel is basic and the rooms are small but a room to me is for sleeping not for spending my holiday in. The food was good but on a couple of nights I went to a bistro around the corner as the food being served wasn't my taste. The staff were friendly and the wi fi only worked in reception but once connected it was good. Yes the hotel could do with a refit but for the money im not sure what some people staying here want. If you want 5* then you have to pay if you want clean and comfortable this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend, Staff are ok. Our room was very small and only a small window to open and no air conditioning. The room was so hot in the nights we had to have several showers throughout the night just to cool down. Breakfast is ok but evening meals are awful wouldn't want to stay there again. Better to pay a little extra and stay in 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a shame, the New Astoria is in dire need of a complete refurb. We stayed for three nights from 18th to 21st July, three nights was enough. Although the staff were great, and the food good, the whole appearance of the hotel is a let down. We arrived in 34c to be ushered into a dining room that is void of any air conditioning. No water was supplied with the evening meal which had to be purchased at 2 euros per bottle. Our room although clean and tidy was extremely hot. The shower required a refit and the front door had to be jammed shut with newspaper to stop the rattle. Clean towels daily were very welcome. We would return to the New Astoria if the old one was pulled down and a NEW on built.

Room Tip: Go for a back room with a window
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bryanlarge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here again for the third time on a Leisuretime Coach Holiday. It is of a good standard for a 2 star hotel, very clean with good service. Meals are basic and good no complaints about standard. This time we had seconds of the soup but no seconds of the main course as we had on previous visits.

We emailed in advance and had a room suitable for us with walking difficulties, we did see a guest in a wheelchair. There are 2 lifts to all floors.

The hotel is central and well placed to access the seafront, shops and only a walk to the Coast Tram and Railway Station, There are no day excursions in Ostend that we could find. Ypres is about 2 hours by train with a good service. Most places are accessible by train or tram plus a lot to do in Ostend using a Ostend Pass for attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Astor Hotel
Royal Astor Hotel
#32 of 47 in Ostend
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#22 of 47 in Ostend
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassadeur
Ambassadeur
#33 of 47 in Ostend
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Louisa
Hotel Louisa
#15 of 47 in Ostend
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#11 of 47 in Ostend
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New-Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New-Astoria Hotel

Address: Van Iseghemlaan 38a, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Hotel Class:2 star — New-Astoria Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your New-Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Astoria Hotel
New Astoria Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing