We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre of Oostende with pleasant views over the marina.”
Review of Hotel Melinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Melinda
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work but was surprised at the central location with easy access to the night life of Oostende. My room was large with a slightly outdated but perfectly functional bathroom. Would stay here again and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan_161987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

PROS
Parking- very good and lots of it gratis!
Staff-friendly,professional
Room-though compact,everything was there including decent sized bath, and balcony.
Wifi- free and unlimited.
Restaurant- didn't use it but the prices were very reasonable for Oostende. The breakfast was
of good quality as well with real bacon.(So said my colleague- he likes his food:) )
Location- couldn't be better, within 10 minutes walking you are in the centre.
Price- for a single room with large bed only 66 euros!
CONS
I would have liked to have seen the BBC on the tv given the amount of brits that must stay there,
but hey,it's not life threatening.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the front you will take in the vista of the marina, very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel is overlooking harbor easy reach to all area's of Ostend. Hotel staff very friendly, plenty of food even scramble egg and bacon at breakfast plus continental.Good bar with plenty of choice a bit pricey but you expect that. We had comfy room overlooking harbor the bed was very comfortable we slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowman11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice location near harbor, railway station, beautiful park,...
Friendly and very helpful staff.
Clean rooms with a view of the adjacent park or the harbor with all the yachts.
Nice breakfast, the restaurant looked great but we didn't use it...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs a firm refreshment. Rooms are outdated. Breakfast is very limitee. Staff is friendly. Biggest issue is the lack of parking space. This resulted in a very expensive fine, which put a major bummer on our weekebd.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wim1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We Stayed here for 2 nights & found our room was very pleasant . It was a spacious room with good storage and wardrobe space in the entrance hall which meant our room was kept clutter free. The room & bathroom were both very clean, the down side was the bed which was 2 singles pushed together. Both beds were quite low down, which having a bad back was not ideal for me.
We did have a balcony which was nice a unexpected benefit. The staff were professional & polite at all times but not overly friendly.
The hotels location is very convenient for the seafront, marina & approx 10 minute walk into town. Plenty of places to eat nearby although the hotel does have its own restaurant but a little pricey. The breakfast was really good with plenty of variety, including per cooked scrambled eggs & bacon. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 27 is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Melinda is a great hotel if you take it for what it is and don't expect facilities that you associate with higher star-rated hotels. We recently had a family get together in the hotel and had requested a single long table for all of us as well as a surprise cake for a birthday. Everything we asked for was delivered with a smile. We ate two evening meals in the hotel, both of which were excellent by any standards. This was much better than standard hotel food and the hotel obviously have people in the kitchen that know what they are doing. The breakfast buffet was also tasty with something for everyone - cereals, eggs and bacon, cheese, ham and salami, fresh (not-tinned) fruits and breads and pain au chocolat etc. The staff throughout our visit were friendly and accomodating and tri-lingual (french, flemish and english). The room we had on the first floor was large, airy, quiet and comfortable - almost everything you would want in a room.

The hotel does not have everything the seasoned traveller may want or expect. How big a deal these are depends on how high a priority you set on them. For example, the room has no public lounge worth talking about, just two well-worn sofas at the rear of the reception which seat a total of 4 people. The bedroom we had was quite large but we understand that they vary considerably in size and layout. What they all seem to not have is any form of decoration on the walls (not a painting or print to be found) which leads to a somewhat sparse feel to the rooms. You also won't find and in-room safe or indeed an in-room fridge/mini-bar to keep your beverages cool. Nor is there any in-room amenities such as a hotel guide, writing paper/pen/pencil. While some rooms have smallish flat screen TVs ours had a tiny CRT-style TV that was from a different era. If you are looking for the bar, well there isn't a separate bar as such. The bar becomes the dining room after 6.00 pm. So no retiring to a cozy bar for a post-prandial digestif then. However, for many travellers, these omissions/absences are not particularly significant and, as in our case, they don't detract from the hotel's core values of a comfortable night's sleep, in a clean establishment, in a good location, with an excellent restaurant. If the items you won't find in Hotel Melinda are important to you then I suggest you try an alternative hotel. If they are not then I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tablepourdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#12 of 47 in Ostend
1,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 47 in Ostend
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#1 of 47 in Ostend
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andromeda Hotel
Andromeda Hotel
#3 of 47 in Ostend
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#9 of 47 in Ostend
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avenue Beach Hotel
Avenue Beach Hotel
#23 of 47 in Ostend
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melinda

Address: Mercatorlaan 21, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range: £72 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melinda 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Melinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melinda Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing