We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit”
Review of Hotel Melinda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melinda
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Ostend
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our first visit to Ostend found us staying at the Melinda. A very friendly hotel with clean rooms offering everything you could want for a stay. It is close to the centre without being too close. From the hotel you could see the Marina. The rail, bus and tram stations were 5 minutes away. Parking is easy. We are going back but this time we'll take the car, but I expect it to remained parked for the length of our visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

stayed at this hotel on a trip to belgium using leger holidays so this hotel was picked for us. The hotel is in a good location but the amenities are very 3 star. The hotel room was small and the bathroom even smaller. The hotel personnel were very friendly and the food was really good. The only bar was in the restaurant so for an evening drink you had to go in there whilst other people were eating which made me feel out of place. Unfortunately because of the bad weather I didnt feel like venturing outside to find another bar. The hotel is 10 stories high but only uses the bottom 4 stories. Thank goodness there was a lift as the stairs were a bit hairy to use. If it wasn't for the helpful staff and good food I would have given this a 2.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out the front of the hotel as the rear view is not too good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank brianuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in a standard double room overlooking the yacht marina and the town. Room quite spacious and clean although there was some traffic noise with the windows opened, but this was to be expected. Staff friendly and the breakfast good. The restaurant serves excellent food at lunchtime and in the evenings. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel to people wanting to stay in Ostend, as the hotel is only 10 minutes from the station, 15 minutes from the beach and 10 minutes from the town with free car parking less than 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter, although they would catch the sun in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Location was perfect in the centre of Ostende, within 15 minutes walking you are near the beach. People were very friendly, room was very small and old the bathroom is outdated and old. Restaurant dinner and breakfast was very good. The prices were very reasonable for Oostende.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreTuyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for work but was surprised at the central location with easy access to the night life of Oostende. My room was large with a slightly outdated but perfectly functional bathroom. Would stay here again and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan_161987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

PROS
Parking- very good and lots of it gratis!
Staff-friendly,professional
Room-though compact,everything was there including decent sized bath, and balcony.
Wifi- free and unlimited.
Restaurant- didn't use it but the prices were very reasonable for Oostende. The breakfast was
of good quality as well with real bacon.(So said my colleague- he likes his food:) )
Location- couldn't be better, within 10 minutes walking you are in the centre.
Price- for a single room with large bed only 66 euros!
CONS
I would have liked to have seen the BBC on the tv given the amount of brits that must stay there,
but hey,it's not life threatening.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the front you will take in the vista of the marina, very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel is overlooking harbor easy reach to all area's of Ostend. Hotel staff very friendly, plenty of food even scramble egg and bacon at breakfast plus continental.Good bar with plenty of choice a bit pricey but you expect that. We had comfy room overlooking harbor the bed was very comfortable we slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowman11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ostend hotels
0.6 mi away
Royal Astrid Hotel
Royal Astrid Hotel
#12 of 46 in Ostend
1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Oostende
Hotel Mercure Oostende
#6 of 46 in Ostend
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leopold Hotel Ostend
Leopold Hotel Ostend
#8 of 46 in Ostend
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Burlington
Hotel Burlington
#11 of 46 in Ostend
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Princess
Hotel Princess
#5 of 46 in Ostend
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bero
Hotel Bero
#2 of 46 in Ostend
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melinda

Address: Mercatorlaan 21, Ostend 8400, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ostend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Ostend
Price Range: £71 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melinda 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Melinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melinda Hotel Ostende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing