We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Kortrijk”

Restaurant David Selen
Ranked #5 of 243 Restaurants in Kortrijk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$44
Cuisines: French, European, Belgian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: L'improviste By David, Bistronomie & TeaLounge Little known, the concept "Bistronomie" is a transposition of gourmet cuisine presented in a simpler way as in a brewery. Het nog weinig gekende concept "Bistronomie" brengt de gastronomische keuken op een eenvoudige manier. TASTE OF THE DAY! From gastronomy to the Bistro through its TeaLounge, not to mention all the suggestions of David. Products of quality, finely worked. Every new season, I would suggest a new card, you could come to taste it entirely on the first Friday night of the new season in the form of walking diner.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best in Kortrijk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good food for a reasonable price. Go here before they rate higher in Gault Millau or Michelin and up their prices. Fine dining, good service, everything is geared for a Michelin star in the near future. Though portions are sometimes on the small side, they always tend to find new dishes to surprise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    49
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy though a bit cold...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very good, but might be more expensive than some starrestaurants. Might be worth it to compare...
Exquisite dishes, though a bit too minimalistic in size for me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
290 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wow to go...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our experience in the restaurant 'David Selen' proves that for some chefs it doesn't matter if you come with a voucher or not - We did have bad restaurant visits with vouchers... - , you are treated like a king or queen anyway. We stayed there to enjoy the wonderful meal, to sleep in the great B & B and to delight in a gorgeous breakfast. The service was absolutely to our satisfaction. And yes, chef David Selen came to shake our hand. Did this add anything to the surprising supper we had? I must admit, no, but it counted up to the warm welcome we had from the beginning. And the end, our breakfast, was AMAZING! Who can tell he had a slice of 'truffle' in his champagne as a birthday present? Thanks for this stunning gourmet indulgence!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilyLighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We tasted a full on 5 course discovery formula dinner, completed with an overnight stay in their B&B. The restaurant's service was Impeccable. The food was delicious and nicely presented, with quality ingredients prepared in a very nice way, without camouflage. Original choice of wines.
Highly recommended, and we'll be back for more gastronomic discoveries.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent meal but we felt cheated on the price of the wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

we went there in november 2013.
The quality of food is excellent. The service also ok.
However we ordered the housewine, which cost us 32 €.
When we looked up the price of exactly the same wine.
We found that we could buy it in the shop for less than 7 €.
.
David Selen is a good restaurant. However their good ranking shouldn't give them the right to charge an exaggerated profit on the wine. This has the potential to destroy their reputation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hemsay .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant David Selen also viewed

Marke, Kortrijk
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
 
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
Kortrijk, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant David Selen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing