We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”
Review of Hotel Messeyne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Messeyne
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kortrijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I used this on a business trip as my regular hotel in Kortrijk was full and was very impressed.
The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable.
The staff are all friendly and were particularly helpful with car parking when I arrived very late.
Breakfast was available early and excellent quality.
A very busy itinerary meant that I didn't have any leisure time there but it appeared a very a stylish place to relax

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamsgateKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent 1 night here. The room was clean and spacious with a nice bathroom. The only drawback was that it was at the back of the hotel above the kitchen area and we had the smell of food the whole time even at night which was rather unpleasant. Room No 11. I did mention this to the girl at the desk when I went to pay the bill the next morning. This ruined our stay at the hotel. I felt that they could have compensated for it. My son had his room at the front and this was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at tghe front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Clean, comfortable and stylish rooms. We had one of the attic rooms with great views over the town, and we couldn't fault the room. Good linen and comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and good pressure in the shower. The wifi and parking was free too. Only a couple of minutes walk into the centre of town but nice and quiet at night.

The town is very pretty but also has a good shopping centre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Pez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for a week on business and have to say its the best allround hotel I've stayed in, room was classy and comfortable, food was amazing, service great, people taking pride in their work. Would not spend this much on a hotel if it was my own cash but would be worth it if i had the cash.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisedogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Although the staff were extremely efficient and attentive the hotel seemed to be rather understaffed. One 'superwoman' on front of house was manning the desk, taking food orders from the restaurant, serving AND clearing. This was not a one off either, it was the same for both breakfast and dinner on both days. Although she clearly made a huge effort to make it seem seamless she just can't be everywhere and the reception was frequently unmanned.
There are some very nice features in the building - a huge wall of moving glass in the reception leading to a cobbled courtyard, the old staircase is hidden behind a secret, sliding wall, very high, beamed ceilings on the 1st floor and ornate plaster works on the ground floor. It was certainly interesting and different. The decor is Scandinavian in style, dark greys with white, clean and minimalist.
There was a strong smell of cigarette smoke on the 1st Floor, whether there are smoking rooms or it was wafting up from the courtyard we weren't sure, but was quite unpleasant.
The room (Room 9) was clean and well decorated, with wonderful high ceilings, lots of storage space, a bath & shower but our 'double' was 2 singles made up individually & pushed together and the beds must have been ancient - there was a huge dip in mine and my husband's. The BBC channels didn't work (the only English channels except Discovery) and they were slightly reluctant to hand out more than one Internet Pass per room as it makes 'the system slow'. The heating/cooling system must have been centrally set to heat only and was certainly archaic - despite being Nov we like our room cooler, it was v hot and we didn't want to open the window as the road outside was pretty noisy and busy, but the air conditioner only blasted out hot air...
Dinner, wine and service and breakfast were all fantastic. Top notch. The king scallops were particularly delicious, as was the fresh juice in the morning and the pastries. Having said that, for the Brits going - pear crumble is not what you're imagining and the king crab is very peculiar, as though it has been preserved somehow - it isn't what you're used to anyway!
We'd stay here again though and I'm certain that the small niggley issues could easily be straightened out.
N.B. FOR THOSE WITH CHILDREN: there is a pond at the back of the hotel in the garden that is disguised by pond weed, so its the same colour as the grass and it isn't marked or cordoned off. Something to be aware of if you have inquisitive for children!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have used Hotel Messeyne for an incentive weekend with some clients. There is absolutely not a single negative point we can put forward. Perfect place, perfect service, perfect rooms, car park, helpfull staff at all levels. Thank you Hotel Messeyne for helping us making this a succesfull incentive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I visited this hotel in my recent trip in Netherlands. It is greatly located close to the rail station, with beautiful rooms. The service is impecable, and great food, athough expensive. The best hotel I have been in this trip.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, so explore a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kortrijk hotels
0.1 mi away
Square Hotel
Square Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kortrijk
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Damier
Hotel Damier
#5 of 13 in Kortrijk
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Kortrijk
Parkhotel Kortrijk
#1 of 13 in Kortrijk
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Kortrijk Centrum
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Expo Kortrijk
Ibis Styles Expo Kortrijk
#6 of 13 in Kortrijk
16 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostellerie Klokhof
Hostellerie Klokhof
#8 of 13 in Kortrijk
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Messeyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Messeyne

Address: Groeningestraat 17, Kortrijk 8500, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Kortrijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kortrijk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kortrijk
Price Range: £121 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Messeyne 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Messeyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messeyne Hotel Kortrijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing