We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New owner”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We read the reviews and decided to stay at the Ambrosia.We are glad we did, new owner Vincent was charming along with Pebbles the receptionist. Great breakfast, rooms etc. have recommended to many friends and will be staying again, Barry and Kate.30th December.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    144
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
173
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moonta, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What more could you possibly ask for when in Ypres. Add to that comfortable rooms, clean and well appointed. A breakfast to die for, fresh juice, cereals, croissants and bacon & eggs. Followed by most importantly cups of decent coffee. Only a 3 min. walk from the main square where most of the good eating places are situated & another 3 min. to the Menin Gate. We stayed 2 nights and I would not hesitate to do so again, if I ever return.

Battlefield tour was excellent & a must for any visitor. Especially Passchendaele.

Room Tip: There is free parking reasonably close by. Staff will only be too happy to direct you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Managed to get a room for one night whilst stopping off at Ypres en route back to the uk. Very clean hotel. Small but enough space for our needs. Sign posted from the main square the hotel is down a side street and the Iwona the lady that runs it was most helpful in advising us where we could park free. Breakfast was bacon, eggs and toast and there were cereals, pastries and fruit too. The Menin gate is only a few minutes walk away and past the chocolate shops on the way.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnknapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Perfect location - 5 minute walk to Menin gate and In Flanders Fields museum. Vincent, the proprietor, was a perfect host. As an American who hasn't travelled much in Europe I was grateful he spoke perfect English. Very clean, comfortable and cozy room, and a wonderful home-cooked breakfast, too. Thanks Vincent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Very warm welcome from Pebbles. Very clean and inviting premises with lovely comfortable beds. Breakfast very acceptable with choice of cooked, cereals, yoghurts and fruit with rolls and croissants available and choice of coffee or tea with orange juice. Hotel very close to amenities and places of interest including the Menim Gate. We have just had 3 days in Ypres staying at the Ambrosia very enjoyable break and somewhere we would stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Maitre d'hotel must wonder at the strange stream of middle aged Brits pouring over military tomes providing his main custom. The front room atmosphere reception with free tea and coffee and a computer is perfect to listen in on conversations centering on the words 'rolling artillery barrage and xxxx Regiment'. These ashen buffs are gratefully stoked with excellent eggs and bacon to send them out into the rain for another hard day's recce. We all returned to know this warm family keep a welcome in this corner of Flanders.

Room Tip: As a single guest, the attic room is just the place to write your Existentialist novel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were only here one night to see the Menin Gate ceremonyen route to Amsterdam. The receptionist who booked us in was very welcoming and informative, The room was a good size with a good shower and the bed was very comfortable and teh room very clean. We would recommend this Hotel to anyone coming to Ieper and will happily stay there again. Deennt selection of beers in a chiller - we tried four and not one was a bad one

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
387 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Property: Ambrosia Hotel
Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres
Ambrosia Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing