We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a B & B than an hotel”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More a B & B than an hotel”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you Vincent and Iwona for looking after us so well recently. We found your beautiful boutique hotel more like a b & b, with the way you cared for your guests. The rooms were very clean and airy and the breakfasts were amazing. Parking is available on the street nearby and is free of a night. There is a coffee machine in the foyer which is available to guests. It is a two minute walk to the Menin Gate and the Cloth Hall. There are many, many restaurants within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorri-dwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    149
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
109
179
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here 1 night and it was superb. Cannot fault anything from the moment of arrival to departure. The owners are lovely - so friendly and helpful with everything from where to eat to what to see/do. Spotless room and extremely comfortable and to finish the stay a lovely breakfast the next morning. Would definitely stop here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

what more can i say ! this is the second time we have visited, superb in every way unable to fault
great acommodation great staff, great grub, superb locoation ideal for the battlefield tours. this hotel comes highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooball Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose this months in advance and even then I was lucky to book the last room. We stayed only 1 night for about EUR120 including an excellent breakfast. Our room was at the top of the 2nd floor stairs under the gabled roof and was charming, with plenty of space to put bags. Vincent and Pebbles were friendly and professional, everything was clean and fairly attractive, and the location is great - just a short walk from Cloth Hall and all the things in Ieper - Menin Gate, restaurants. Parking is not a problem although we arrived on a festival day in town and had to pay on the street we found, otherwise you may find free parking nearby. We would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I took my father and eldest son on a battlefields tour and chose this hotel for no other reason than trip advisor reviews.
We arrived later than anticipated (and after the owner had finished for the evening) however, he emailed, telephoned and text me how to get in to the hotel via keypad. On getting in, a lovely letter was left for us in the reception making us welcome.
The stairs are quite steep which may be an issue for some, but for us just added to the natural feel of the hotel. The hotel is family run and the owners are very keen to provide excellent service to all staying there. It is clean, well located and well appointed. If you prefer bespoke, more personal hotels than the usual chains, look no further. Thank you Vincent

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Travelled to Ypres last month to start our self guided tour of Belgium and France. Ambrosia perfectly and conveniently located, walking distance to Cloth Hall, Menin Gate etc. Turned out to be good value for our money, room spotless and breakfast (whatever we wanted) served with a smile. I had asked for baked beans for breakfast one morning which they did not have but to my surprise and delight, they had gone to the supermarket and had it on the menu next morning! It is a narrow staircase but it after all a quaint original building and was no bother to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a night in the Ambrosia this month when visiting Ypres and the
Menin Gate. The location was very convenient -a few blocks from main street.
The hotel was clean and a
basic 2-3 star. Pebbles at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. She prepared a very good breakfast with eggs, cheeses and there was a fine selection on the breakfast buffet. The wifi was good and there was a computer to use free of charge in the comfortable lobby.
The room quality unfortunately was
a bit of a let down.
The rooms were a good size but in need of a bit of TLC as the carpets were worn & stained & the wall paper was patched & peeling in our room. There was no elevator so if you have accessibility issues this may prove a problem.
With a bit of refurbishment in the rooms this would be a solid 3 star.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1boutiquebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Property: Ambrosia Hotel
Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres
Ambrosia Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing