We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PERFECT STAY!!”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were greeted with a warm, friendly welcome and quickly checked in. We had a special request for one of the rooms to be on the ground floor (elderly parent) which was provided. The hotel is a short walk to all the Ieper attractions - our host even offered to book a table for us at one of the restaurants for a meal after the 8:00pm Act of Remembrance at the Menin Gate. Breakfast was delightful. A real treat is the free tea/coffee facilities in the foyer, and also a fridge where you ca buy a beer if you wish (with a pretty good selection at reasonable prices too!!). The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room very quiet. The room had no air conditioning, but the ceiling-mounted kept the air moving in the room which was lovely. My car was parked on the street overnight - when I moved it to one of the free town car parks, I was offered use of their folding bicycle so I didn't have to walk back! How's that for service!! And as for value for money - you won't find better in Ieper. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The stairs are quite steep and narrow (it is a traditional Ieper building, after all!) - but there a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Ambrosia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed one night whilst cycle touring. Very friendly and helpful host. Secure bike accommodation in rear courtyard. Room clean and comfortable for 3 of us. City centre only a very short walk away. Great breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ed0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic staff very pleasant hotel , great location A++,excellent rooms , great choice for breakfast, free coffee tea in the reception great idea, you also can hire bike , if you feel fit
on street parking but I believe private parking can be arranged.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camharrypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose the Ambrosia to get a taste of a family-run hotel in Belgium and used it as our base for trips to WW1 Battlefields and Bruges.
It's well-positioned, just back from the main square, clean, comfortable, quiet, does a good breakfast and has friendly staff. Vincent was helpful and informative whenever we had a question and Irene stepped in for breakfast duties when we needed to leave early on Friday 13 June.
We'd recommend the Ambrosia. Just try to avoid the rooms at the top if you've got heavy luggage!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel Ambrosia is neat and small and provided us with excellent service. The room was comfortable and clean. Having a tea/coffee machine in the Reception area was a nice touch. Vincent the manager made excellent bacon and eggs for breakfast and it was good to be able to chat with him while he cooked. The location is great, being a couple of minutes walk from the main square and Menin Gate.
Ambrosia in Greek mythology was the food or drink of the gods, conferring immortality upon whoever consumed it. Those who fell in the Salient remain immortal in our hearts.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night during a recent WW1 battlefield trip, and chose this due to the close proximity to the centre, Menin Gate, and the restaurant we booked. Nice and clean, pleasant host, and a nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Ambrosia Hotel in May we were part of a group of 12, we really enjoyed our stay there, the hosts were great, rooms were spotless and comfortable and food was excellent. The position of the hotel is ideal just a couple of minutes walk to the main square.,We would definately recommend this hotel and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELLABELLAYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
420 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £78 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres
Ambrosia Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing