We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable, welcoming and perfect location”
Review of Ambrosia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambrosia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2009

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by Vincent who welcomed us with a drink on the house which was really appreciated after our long drive from Manchester. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and in a perfect location being only a couple minutes walk from both the market place and the Menin Gate. The breakfast of bacon, eggs and toast was delicious although there was a choice of continental if preferred. All in all a very nice hotel and would recommend to anybody visiting the battlefields in the area. Thank you Vincent!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in December & found the hotel great for the price. Beds were comfy breakfast ( Bacon & Eggs & the other usual things ) great. The owner is very freindly & goes out of his way to please you. If I was to stay in Ypres again I would certainly stop here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barney2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Excellant warm welcome from our host Vincent and his family, nice to have welcome drink on arrival at the hotel after a long day in the battle fields.

Hotel has been refurbished extensivley since being the Shell Hole, it is totally different. Hotel is now tastly furnished with all comforts of home (soft furnishings, new carpets, newly painted, all new furniture, new mattress on the beds etc.)

Food also very good at breakfast with a good variety every day.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JeffandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

Staying at Ambrosia is like staying at a distant relatives house. Clean and Comfortable not flashy or trying to be something it's not. With a warm, friendly atmosphere. Vincent has done a great job with the place and his breakfast really hit the spot, especially after so many crappy French ones. It's also a perfect spot for anyone visiting WW1 sites.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

A small and quaint hotel, just a block from the centre of town and a few minutes away from the main train station. Our room appeared to have been recently renovated, and it was very clean and modern-looking. The host (Vincent) was extremely friendly and helpful.
The only unfortunate part of our two-night stay was that there were many loud and boisterous drunks walking by our window until the early hours on Saturday night, making it difficult to get to sleep. This might have been avoided if we had asked for a room that wasn't facing the main street.
Other than the noise from the street, our stay was terrific and we would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xdennisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

My wife and I spend two very nice nights at the Ambrosia. Formerly 'The Shell Hole', we stayed there last year, what a transformation, top marks for a fantastic refurbishment. Decor, furnishings, beds, breakfast, everything excellent.
Highly recommended. Thank you Vincent and good luck.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Weavers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Stayed 2 nights room on the small side, but if you're looking for good value accommodation in a good position, this is it. Will certainly stay here again. Very welcoming and helpful host.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JCandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.1 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Hotel

Address: D'hondtstraat 54, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £79 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambrosia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, cozy, homy, renewed familyhotel at 300m from the square. Easy going attitude. Great cooked and cold breakfast. Free fast wifi and 50 English tvchannels. Bicycle, scooter and motorbikehire. Looking forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambrosia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Hotel Ypres
Ambrosia Hotel Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing