We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Gasthof 't Zweerd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof 't Zweerd
Ranked #22 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Right in the corner of the Market Square, this hotel is ideally located for visiting the ceremony at the Menin gate and In Flanders Field Museum. Recently, refurbished, this hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable and it is an excellent price. The only downside is that our room at the front was very noisy due to cars driving over the cobbles all night and we needed to have our window open for some air. Would return but would request a room away from the square.

Room Tip: Although you won't get a view of the square, a back room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review! lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Small hotel situated in the Grote Markt. Recently refurbuished it is pleasant and comfortable. At
é 85 a room per night it is not inexpensive. Good restaurant and nice food, it is close to The Menin Gate and many of the key tourist sites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerald106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The team at the Zweerd was as good as ever, I have been visiting Ypres for the past 30 yrs and have stayed at most of the hotels in Ypres. The Zweerd is the hotel of my choice, the friendly staff food and location, you can't beat it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently whilst visiting the many local attractions.This Hotel is ideally situated on the corner of the Market Square in the centre of Ieper.You are only a five minute walk from the famous Menin Gate,less than that to the magnificently restored Cloth Hall.
Bit of a mix up at checking in with our room but that was swiftly sorted out by Paul,as soon as possible.The Continental breakfast is more than adequate to fill you up,all the staff members we encountered were polite and efficient.The whole place from the bedrooms to the stairs to the bar and restaurant were clean and tidy and all on a budget price.Just a tip for fellow travellers read the instructions on the back of your bedroom door on how to operate the kettle before you use it!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a triple room for three adults, room consisted of two small twin beds and adult bunk beds, the bathroom was just a 'box' built into the room which made the bedroom even smaller, but for one night it was fine but I could not have stayed there any longer as the room was dark and dull due to the window having a brock wall outside of it, cutting out the light.

The bathroom had a shower that worked but drained very slowly causing issues. The room cleanliness could also do with a lift, too many hairs on the floor from previous visitors to make you feel comfortable.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, breakfast was good, usual continental selection of cold items.

All in all a good stay but certainly very basic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent and plentiful but best of all was the location - less than 5 minutes on foot to the Menin Gate in one direction and The In Flanders Field Museum in the other. Our room overlooked the Grote Markt which was both attractive and surprisingly quiet. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance as well as the shops and I would recommend a walk around the ramparts as far as the station. The room was very clean but the décor was rather bizarre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

As hotels were at a premium Easter weekend, this was the best available in terms of price £70.00 for 1 night B&B (single person) through Booking.com which I thought expensive but I needed a place to stay. Payment was taken in full immediately. The location is excellent, no doubt about it, right in the middle of Ieper, just on the Market Square and a few minutes walk from the Menin Gate, Cloth Hall etc. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful, however, I found it strange that I wasn't asked for passport details, just asked for my name and was given my room key. My room was on the first floor (at the back) a double, and basic but I had a very comfortable sleep despite the fact the plumbing seemed a little noisy from time to time. It was clean, and even though the bathroom/shower facilities were quite compact, it was adequate for my needs. The one blip the night I stayed, the hotel had a power cut and suddenly my room was pitch black! I was relieved, once I had found my way to my door, to find emergency lighting in the hallway. The lights came back on about 3 minutes later but the episode was little disconcerting. Breakfast was basic, tea/coffee/juice, bread, croissants, ham and cheese. The hotel is perfect for the Saturday morning market which starts at 7 am and goes on until around 1 pm. Just step outside your hotel and start browsing, lots of stalls including food, clothes, flowers and live poultry!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank SMBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Tom
Hotel Old Tom
#30 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
#37 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
#7 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Porte Cochere
La Porte Cochere
#3 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof 't Zweerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof 't Zweerd

Address: Grote Markt 2, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof 't Zweerd 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel 't Zweerd you can enjoy a goodnight sleep in our comfortable rooms equipped with base needs to a hotel. Recently new coffee and tea sets arrived in every room. Inportant to know is that there have been some rooms updated with flat screen tv's and new telephone sets and new bathrooms with walk in showers.All rooms are non smoking and accessable with elevator/lift. We also offer various options in the room can be arranged for you, we may surprise you and your partner with an exclusive bottle of champagne or cava in the room, chocolates or even the best chocolate from Belgium and flowers can be provided before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gasthof 't Zweerd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof 't Zweerd Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing