We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Battlefields Trip”
Review of Gasthof 't Zweerd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gasthof 't Zweerd
Ranked #22 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I booked Gasthof Zweerd for my school battlefields trip and it was superb. The staff were incredibly helpful and organised all the rooms in advance (and very quickly sorted out some re-rooming for me when we arrived). The rooms very clean and although a couple were a bit cramped with an extra bed for the students, they were all satisfactory. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and you couldn't have asked for better food; excellent quality and a lot of it! They also provided a packed lunch for us from a local bakery which was also very good.
For anyone else thinking of using it for a school trip I would really recommend it; it was so nice to be in centre of Ypres so the students really got a sense of being in Belgium and particularly Wipers! Before we arrived I was a little concerned about the students maybe sneaking out into the town, but Ypres is a quiet little town and once the Menin Gate ceremony is over it quickly closes up (and our students were so tired they just wanted to get to bed anyway).
Excellent, friendly and welcoming welcome, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can, get one over-looking the square; maybe a little noisier but a great place to watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C_Woodman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a family visit to Ypres, we were six , aged between 75 & 15. The location was excellent, in the centre of town but we did not find it very noisy. The front rooms look directly out onto the main square so there is bound to be some noise but Ypres is not a bustling or busy place until all hours. Ypres is a charming place and this guest house was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms we had were basic but clean and comfortable with individual character. There is a warm and friendly atmosphere in the bar and an elegant restaurant behind serving good food.
We can also recommend a bar a couple of doors down to the right where we were made very welcome following our late arrival on the Friday evening. No food at that time but a very interesting time discussing and sampling the wonderful Belgian beers!
I hope to return to Ypres and would certainly choose 't Zweerd again.

Room Tip: Front room for good views of the square and buildings. Rear room limited outlook but no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first time to Ypres and I would definitely return to this Hotel again. The location is ideal to visit the local historical sites and Museums. The room was very clean and beds extremely comfortable. Although it is on the Market Square we did not find it too noisy and slept with the lovely big windows open every night! The Hotel is excellent value at 85 Euros and right on the Grote Markt which is a 5 minute walk to the Menin Gate. This Hotel was one of our favourite places to eat in the evening. The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. A huge thank you to Lisa who was an absolute star!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the front to enjoy waking up to the sunshine and local sounds + great view of the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolanne121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello family Bull, I hope everything went well for you to travel home. How is your ankcle???
Hope to see you some other time in our hotel:-) thanks for your review!!!

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Right in the corner of the Market Square, this hotel is ideally located for visiting the ceremony at the Menin gate and In Flanders Field Museum. Recently, refurbished, this hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable and it is an excellent price. The only downside is that our room at the front was very noisy due to cars driving over the cobbles all night and we needed to have our window open for some air. Would return but would request a room away from the square.

Room Tip: Although you won't get a view of the square, a back room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review! lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Small hotel situated in the Grote Markt. Recently refurbuished it is pleasant and comfortable. At
é 85 a room per night it is not inexpensive. Good restaurant and nice food, it is close to The Menin Gate and many of the key tourist sites.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerald106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gasthoftzweerd, Manager at Gasthof 't Zweerd, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review

lissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The team at the Zweerd was as good as ever, I have been visiting Ypres for the past 30 yrs and have stayed at most of the hotels in Ypres. The Zweerd is the hotel of my choice, the friendly staff food and location, you can't beat it!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights recently whilst visiting the many local attractions.This Hotel is ideally situated on the corner of the Market Square in the centre of Ieper.You are only a five minute walk from the famous Menin Gate,less than that to the magnificently restored Cloth Hall.
Bit of a mix up at checking in with our room but that was swiftly sorted out by Paul,as soon as possible.The Continental breakfast is more than adequate to fill you up,all the staff members we encountered were polite and efficient.The whole place from the bedrooms to the stairs to the bar and restaurant were clean and tidy and all on a budget price.Just a tip for fellow travellers read the instructions on the back of your bedroom door on how to operate the kettle before you use it!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Old Tom
Hotel Old Tom
#29 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
Hotel O Ieper - Grote Markt
#38 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
#7 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Porte Cochere
La Porte Cochere
#2 of 43 in Ieper (Ypres)
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof 't Zweerd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof 't Zweerd

Address: Grote Markt 2, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £74 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gasthof 't Zweerd 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In hotel 't Zweerd you can enjoy a goodnight sleep in our comfortable rooms equipped with base needs to a hotel. Recently new coffee and tea sets arrived in every room. Inportant to know is that there have been some rooms updated with flat screen tv's and new telephone sets and new bathrooms with walk in showers.All rooms are non smoking and accessable with elevator/lift. We also offer various options in the room can be arranged for you, we may surprise you and your partner with an exclusive bottle of champagne or cava in the room, chocolates or even the best chocolate from Belgium and flowers can be provided before your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gasthof 't Zweerd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof 't Zweerd Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing