We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Peace Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peace Village
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and friendly”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lots of space, rooms were very clean, food was great and staff were friendly! Breakfast had a big selection of cereal, bread, fruit etc while the dinners had decent sized servings. I travelled in a group and all enjoyed our stay here. Good communal room that had wifi access.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaclyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is an excellent hostel with facilities that are very student friendly. The accommodation had downstairs living with bunk beds in loft looking over soccer pitch, cemetery and battlefields of Messines. Authentic, accessible and comfortable. Linen and towels easily collected and deposited in foyer on leaving. Meals were delicious. Only recommendation to provide soy milk when advised student lactose intolerant. However this did not detract from hearty meals for travellers.
Common room was nice break on a busy tour and students thoroughly enjoyed our stay. See you in 2016:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise6403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We visited as a group of 14 Explorer Scouts and leaders from the UK and found it to be an excellent hostel.
The staff are very friendly, helpful and will really put themselves out to make sure you get what you need.
The accommodation is clean, spacious and comfortable. There are no frills, but its a hostel, so no complaints. There is ample wardrobe space, lots of sockets for phone chargers and good heating and ventilation.
The food was plentiful and they came up with the extras we asked for, plus more besides. The packed lunches were simple but effective and ample for even the teenagers.
The lounge area is small but comfy, and the bar stock excellent local beers or soft or hot drinks to suit.
Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need and they will help you get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Great location and very accessible to all the cemeteries and memorial in and around Ypres salient. Accommodation is good, clean and tidy. Bedding is provided and you must make your bed with sheets and blankets. If you have a disability you must say prior to your booking and they will provide ground floor accommodation otherwise it's bunk beds! The breakfast is really good and very typical Belguim, other Meals can be provided and the food is very good. Staff are great and I must say very helpful. There is a bar at night and the town has a chippy if hungry. For the price it's value for money and it's only a bus ride away from Ypres or 20 euro taxi

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodfellowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a large group visiting the near by WWI sites. The accommodation is clean and modern - our had a sizeable living room area, toilet and separate shower area. There were 4 bunk beds upstairs - not very user-friendly if you have mobility problems. Bedding was provided as were towels - bring your own toiletries including a bar of soap. The nearby village had little, if anything, by way of restaurants or even a shop. If you are looking for shopping, a decent recent restaurant and some entertainment you would need to go into leper (Ypres) which is a few miles away. The centre's facilities include a bar area with pool table and a basic dining area. The food itself was ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A good enough place to stay if you want to visit WW1 locations and are operating on a budget, which you probably are if staying in hostel accommodation.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs you would need to check in advance if you can get a room with bed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotBrazilNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and keep the place in very good condition. The rooms are simple yet clean and very comfortable. A quiet town, however for some excitement you may have to travel to nearby Ypres.

Room Tip: Rooms Four or Seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BES2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasmechelen, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It's the perfect place to stay when you want a place to sleep and a good breakfast before or in between visits to the Ieper region. It's not a hotel, but a perfect place to stay for an active vacation. Don't expect swimming pools and fitness rooms... but friendly staff, good beds, nice clean rooms... I allways look forward to stay here during the Ypres rally.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnydeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ieper (Ypres)
5.9 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,309 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
202 reviews
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
BEST WESTERN Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
387 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
482 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostellerie Kemmelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Village

Property: Peace Village
Address: Nieuwkerkestraat 9 A, Ieper (Ypres) 8957, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace Village Hostel, situated in rural Messines, is the ideal group accommodation and base for a visit to Flanders Fields and the Ypres Salient. The hostel overlooks the Messines ridge battlefield of Belgium's smallest city with landmarks such as the Island of Ireland Peace Park and the New Zealand Memorial to the Missing. The Hostel excels in tranquility, space and offers great facilities. It's perfectly equipped to accommodate both medium size and large groups. We can welcome up to 165 guests in 43 studio's, each with their own living and sleeping area and en-suit facilities. Our evening activities and bar help to keep groups occupied in the evening whilst you enjoy the beautiful sunset on Kemmel hill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peace Village Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing