We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Poorthuis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poorthuis
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our trip to the Flanders Fields. The appartement is very nicely restored and is an excellent place for a family or two couples. The location next to the Menin Gate allows to see/hear the last post ceremony at 20:00 every day.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the 1 bedroom apartment.The location is great, just off the square for Menin Gate, Cloth Hall and all the bars, restaurants. The apartment has good facilities including AC, a large bed, separate wc. It is located on a road that can be a bit busy during the morning especially, so there is some traffic noise. This can be reduced by closing the bedroom door though. There is a garage available close by, €10 per night, which we though was a bit high, given you may be out all day and then can park for free in the evenings/early morning. Having said all this, we would return to this apartment - which says it all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AIBNORFOLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent three nights at the Poorthuis in Ypres and had a great time. Ypres is a great place to begin your battlefield tours. The city is large enough to have good restaurants and shopping but not too big to be annoying.

The apartment we had was on the top floor –Belfort Suite. It is very clean, well decorated and well appointed with a full kitchen, bathroom, sitting area, living area and bedroom. It is about a block from the main market square and two blocks from Menin Gate. There are lots of bakeries, meats stores and amenities nearby.

Although right on a fairly busy street, there is very little noise as the windows are new and double pane. I loved having a TV with lots of English TV shows.

The rates are very good and the hosts are very nice and accommodating. Our daughter joined us for one night and they quickly brought in a cot for her for no charge. We had an issue with the Wifi (when the lower tenant unplugged the router) and the owner spent a considerable amount of time correcting the issue.

I would highly recommend the apartment and location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VimyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed in the Belfort for three nights as a surprise for my husband's birthday. The apartment had every amenity needed, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It rained heavily on our first day but we were more than happy to relax in the apartment. The owners were easy to contact by email before we left and were friendly and helpful on arrival. We parked the car in the garage around the corner which was a good decision as street parking has to be paid for. Ypres itself is a lovely town and the people we encountered very friendly. There is so much to see in and around the town. The Last Post at the Menin Gate is a must. We will definitely be returning to the town and the accommodation in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A beautiful apartment, but we thought it was stretching it rather to say it's a 4 person apartment! We stayed in the Cathedral apartment. There were 4 adults sharing. The double bedroom was fine, but the 'second' bedroom is really no more than a 'corridor' between the double bedroom and the bathroom. It is very very tiny, only enough space for bunk beds, but has a sloping ceiling too so the person in the top bunk is very close to the roof, so be careful when sitting up in bed! No cupboard or wardrobe or anything in here as there is no room, so nowhere for clothes and belongings....and NO window, so it is rather claustrophobic and dark! It would make an ideal 'dressing room' for the main bedroom, but no more!

Having 4 adults sharing made it very 'interesting' and one of them actually removed the mattress and slept on the floor in the lounge rather than in the bunk room, while the other had the bunk room and the 4 of us had to share the wardrobe in the double room!

The layout is odd, and having the only toilet off the lounge is a problem, there is NO toilet in the bathroom, so if somebody in the bunk room needs the toilet in the night they have to go through the main bedroom to get to it! Not a problem if it's possibly parents/children, but not so when it's friends sharing and they have to march through the double bedroom! Perhaps removing the bath and adding a shower cubicle instead and adding a 2nd toilet would be the best option! Smaller children may be frightened sleeping in the bunk room as it is so confined and dark! It really would not get away with being called a 'second bedroom' in the UK and would not be allowed to be a bedroom at all with no window or means of escape!

I would return if it were just my husband and myself, as really it's a 2 person apartment, possibly one extra sleeping on the z-bed in the lounge!

Room Tip: I would recommend only renting this apartment if you are a couple and with perhaps one child, who ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The flats are in a great, central location. There is an abundance of free off road parking or you can get a car box for an extra 10 euros a night.

The kitchen is fully equpied and there is a supermarket, bakery and buthchers within a couple of minutes walk. But of course there are so many lovely restaurants you may not want to eat in! The owners left a really nice bottle of red wine for us too, a really lovely touch!

Flat is lovely and warn with heating on 24 hours, we were grateful as it was -15 when we were there. If it's a bit warmer there is air con too.

Flat has towels, soap etc too so it really is like a hotel but with your own front door and loads of space.

Simply the best place to stay in Ypres.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerngirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Had a late arrival in Ieper, and our host met us anyway, was very helpful and showed us to our parking garge. The apartment was fantastic and spacious with all amenities, even AC. Our boys 13 and 15 had their own room and my wife and I ours. It was a 2 min walk from Grote Market/Flanders Field Museum and 5 mins from the Menin Gate. The location was a great home base for touring WWI battlefields and monuments, approximately 60 min drives to most attractions. Overall, a great experience and value with local shops on the street to sample local foods. If returning would book immediately, just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,435 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poorthuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poorthuis

Address: Diksmuidestraat 26, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Ieper (Ypres)
Price Range: £86 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poorthuis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poorthuis in the city centre of Ieper. Apartment Belfort suitable for two persons. All modern comfort. Wifi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poorthuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poorthuis Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing