We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hearty food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Ruyffelaer

De Ruyffelaer
Ranked #10 of 114 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$38
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were in Ypres for the weekend and noticed this was a traditional Belgian fare Resto so gave it a go. The food is really very good, lots of warm stew variations but after a brief Last Post ceremony in biting wind it was ideal. Our Host was attentive, efficient and friendly and the rabbit was delicious, even my War Baby Mum thought so and she has nothing good to say about wartime food as a rule. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kwosimodo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    60
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely evening in Ypres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited this restaurant after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. We booked by email a fee days before because we wanted to go to the Menim gate at 8pm and wanted to be sure of somewhere to eat. Easy to find about a 10-15 minute walk from the gate. The atmosphere was lovely - cosy and welcoming with the right buzz of conversation. The food and wine was excellent and we were given good help choosing our dishes. We left well fed and very content. One of our party had left her glasses behind and the restaurant contacted us before we arrived back in our apartment. Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geofflane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Delicious food. We had the country pate and smoked trout for starters; and the rabbit in a beer sauce and the beef stew for the main course. All very good. We drank the Trappist bruin beer. Great service, very friendly, good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen_h146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

had lunch here. nice staff and yummy food. big portions of rustic cooking. good beer menu as well. 5 min walk from the centre of town

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“De Ruyffelaer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Good quality for price. Flemish classics. Traditional interior. Excellent choice of backgroundmusic. The picture is complete is this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Ruyffelaer also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Ruyffelaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing