We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic homely and ultimately satisfying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Ruyffelaer

De Ruyffelaer
Ranked #8 of 114 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$38
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic homely and ultimately satisfying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We both had rabbit casserole which was a simple satisfying meal. Our host was most obliging and the surroundings traditional warm and friendly. Great ambiance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amh1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    60
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

On the advice of Veronique owner of b&b hortensia where we were staying (11/7-14/7/14) we managed to get the only table that was not reserved (so if you haven't booked don't let it put you off going there) on Saturday night about 7.45.
Our party of 4 adult males chose :3 pork shoulders and one opted for the ham shank.
The pork shoulder was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth,not over one or chewylike an old ford escort inner tube. The veg and gravy (or is it shoo,shoe,sioux these days?) Were a perfect compliment.we were served mash potato which was out of this world,on enquiring fennel and dripping(possibly lost in translation) was mixed/mashed in ,lovely .The group member who selected the ham shank really enjoyed it saying it was cooked to perfection.I can vouch for that as I had half of it as it was too much for him,again delicious.
With drinks and 3 coffee's the total was about 85 Euros .(each meal less than £15) .
So if your in Ypres make sure you go here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

What an amazing find! We were in Ypres in 2012 for Armistice day and came across this restaurant. The owner was friendly and the food was excellent. It was so good that I'm planning a stop over in August just to pop in.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia_and_Sander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazingly good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As everyone else has said this place is really special. Friendly couple running it, rustic charm, excellent food and my husband loved the DeRuyffelaer beer and Grog.
Wonderful !!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Devongirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

This is the spot for authentic Belgian cuisine in a rustic setting. This family owned restaurant was outstanding in its small cozy atmosphere. We chose a rabbit dish that was extremely tasty. Service was attentive and courteous. We will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
3 Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Ruyffelaer also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Ruyffelaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing